Harvesting fresh TURMERIC ROOT and making Turmeric Tea - ๐Ÿ’š NATURAL MEDICINE ๐Ÿ’š

in #photography โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

There is nothing more healthy and welcome on a cool rainy day in the jungle than some turmeric tea from freshly harvested root.

9C0CEB81-25F1-422B-A532-A83A3E8B9BD3.jpeg

First job was to venture out in the rain for a plant to harvest. I opted for a pot close to the house for speed as the rain is really coming down today! I eased the plant from its pot ( this had only been planted about six months so I wondered if there would be enough root growth but it turned out to be fine for what I had in mind.

E9FA57E7-F601-40D6-937C-E7D0DFE5FDF9.jpeg

I washed the roots thoroughly in a bucket of water to remove the mud then carefully removed all the fingers of a useable size. The plant itself still completely intact, I thanked it profoundly for its offering of roots and medicine, then I quickly replanted again so it could continue its life to regrow. It was only out of the ground for about 10 minutes so hopefully not traumatized too much๐Ÿ’š

DE4B95FF-056E-4636-A29A-1AF2741AF4EC.jpeg

1A6A178C-AA7A-400D-829D-334F4D75FA6A.jpeg

Having sliced a bunch of the fingers into small rings I put them to simmer in a small pan of water for around 30 minutes adding a little freshly ground black pepper as the pepper in the mix helps the body absorb the curcumin. I love the alchemy of nature at work like this. I then strained the beautiful yellow liquid and added the juice of a freshly picked lemon and some honey.

I have noticed that honey labels here on Costa Rica say HONEY FROM BEES - I donโ€™t know what other sort of honey there is apart from Bee honey so this always makes me smile. I asked a shop assistant here once what other sorts of honey might I expect to find in Costa Rica expecting her to have some ancient awareness of honey collecting from other insects, but she only smiled and shrugged her shoulders saying she had no idea๐Ÿ˜†

Not only is turmeric delicious but it is an absolute powerhouse of natural medicine to boost health and give you a real tonic. The most active ingredient in turmeric is Curcumin. Itโ€™s a strong anti-oxidant and is a powerful anti inflammatory so very useful in treating the symptoms of arthritis.
It improves brain function and reduces the chances of brain disease. Also being useful in treating depression, Alzheimerโ€™s and age related diseases. It is extremely beneficial to reduce symptoms that cause heart disease. It improves blood flow and reduces the risk of blood clotting and therefore decreases the risk of suffering heart attacks.

The turmeric colour is very intense and will stain clothes and skin so take care

Wishing you health, love and light from the jungle! โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’š

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย 

PURAVIDA ๐Ÿฆ‹

Sort: ย 

Excelente tu post. Tengo curcuma en casa y la uso para la comida, ahora me tocara hacer un Tรฉ. Gracias. Exitos. @sallybeth23

Muy bien ๐Ÿ˜ Espero que te gustas ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ€

let me share your post.

Thanks very much, itโ€™s appreciated ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ€

Thank you friend

I will try some... upvoted

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excellent, i am sure you will love it! ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒˆ๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ€

Interesting to see the tea made so freshly @sallybeth23. Tumeric sounds like a really great "food". I never knew before that that was what the leaves looked like. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thanks Gillian, it really is so delicious as a fresh made drink and yes you can feel it doing you good! ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’›

What can I say to this: Enjoy! ;)

Thanks for your comment ๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ€

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

Yesss love this! When I dug up my first turmeric root I was like a kid in a turmeric candy store. The rich vibrancy of it was intoxicating and I had to share some with my neighbours. The turmeric flower is also the most magnificent form Iโ€™ve ever seen. What a magical plant.

Thanks very much for your great comment, glad you love this plant as much as me ! ๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ˜

its cancer prevention agent and mitigating properties, turmeric can add to solid absorption

Tu publicaciรณn es muy buena, mereces mi voto!
Sigue asรญ que estare pendiente de tus publicaciones

Saludos.

Your pust is very good,
you have won my vote!
Keep it up so I'll be aware of your posts

Greetings.

Such a treat! Fresh tonic full of medicinal goodies for the body and soul!
This is am amazing way to live with nature.

Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35