the story of a boat

in #photography6 years ago

IMG_9411.jpg

"What will be will"
This is the name of this boat stranded on the beach of Laayoune. It was as if destiny reserved for him the end dictated by his name. What will be will be, and it will be on the fine white sand of the southern Moroccan coast.

I gazed lost in my thoughts this majestic wreck, imagining it furrowing the currents of the Atlantic.

I was in the company of Mokhtar, a Saharawi friend with a passion for history and the arts. It was he who made me discover this place. He said: I know a place and a story that will please you.

Here we are, the place leaves no voice, for the story, it will be up to you to see;

What Will Sera is, or was, an Icelandic fishing boat. His crew was fishing sardines for 14 months off the coast of Laayoune, and exported them.

Que Sera Sera was not like the other boats, in two or three months, he surpassed all his competitors, breaking the prices, and finding himself alone on the spot. He was working hundreds of people in Laayoune, the company named Fleur de Mer had a real impact on the city, workers paid 80 dhs per hour, it was unheard of.

Everyone was happy until the crew disappeared, leaving the ship stranded on the sand.

Mokhtar marks a long silence, unable to accept this end, I ask him, disappeared how? And why ?

"They used sardines to launder cocaine money and ... nobody ever thought of anything"

This last sentence answered all the questions I asked myself, I finally understood why they chose this name, Que Sera Sera ,. We stick to the plan, and that will be will.

It's beautiful, it's ironic, it's funny and it's poetic. Strangely, I have a lot of admiration for this crew.

Regards, Jawhar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83