Full Moon, Full Womb, Full Bloom

in #photography5 years ago

As August approaches and the flowers begin to drop their petals, revealing their swollen seed pods full of promise of new life, I begin to think about my own full womb and the journey that led me here.



Unlike the flowers, the truth is, motherhood did not come naturally nor was it an easy decision for me.

I more often leaned towards not wanting to have kids than to wanting them. And I waited a long time - until I was 38 - before I finally realized that not deciding was a form of deciding. Whatever the final decision would be, I knew I did not want time to pass me by and look back in regret. So Noel and I worked for a good part of a year to weigh the pros and cons.



But as we dove into the topic, we began to see that it was not so simple as pros and cons. There were so much under the surface tied to our own childhood experiences, our limiting beliefs, and most importantly, our fears.

The reasons that held us back were numerous. The powerful, underlying belief that birth and pain are one. The toxic ideology both in the east and west that the female body and its monthly cycle is inherently unsanitary. Related to that, a deeply rooted eastern view that it is a woman's duty to bear children to fulfill her filial responsibility. Then, there is also the fear that we are unprepared mentally, emotionally, and financially. And last but not least, the looming problem of overpopulation and of a future generation inheriting our environmental catastrophes.



Duty and responsibility, pain and fear. These dark thoughts weighed heavily on me. I was reminded of my teenage years and the first time the question, "What is the meaning of life?" came to me and how my answers - there is no meaning, all is suffering, all is samsara - brought a deep sense of disillusionment and emptiness.



“Someone I loved once gave me a box full of darkness. It took me years to understand that this too, was a gift.”

Mary Oliver




In those anguished moments, sometimes heartbreaking between Noel and me as we talked through our long list of fears, each taking turns rising in hope and quickly shrinking in fear, I saw clearly how much this pained us.



I thought of all the times it has been painful to choose love. How often we broke each other's hearts. And why we choose it still.

And I knew my heart's answer. I knew it the way flowers and animals know how to choose life without ever questioning its purpose or its pains. Not because it would be a sin to forsake life. But because when I look at a sunset, when I admire a flower, when I fall in love, I know it's right and true. I know pain is part of it, but it's not all of it.



"There are only two ways to live your life: as though nothing is a miracle, or as though everything is a miracle."

Albert Einstein




Little by little, we rose in hope and our fears shrank a little more and a little more. And our child grows as we grew.

Now as I enter the last stretch of my pregnancy, I feel more than ever that this entire process is undeniably beautiful. And it happens every second of every day among all living things. Over and over, life chooses life. And I'm glad we too are taking part in that great dance.

```
Sort:  

WOW! This is so beautiful. And so are you and your photos. I love it! Yes, it's a strong belief that pain and birth come together, when in reality pain only belongs with our bodies when there is an issue. Pain is an indicator that there is something wrong. But because throughout the ages we were told that with birth, comes pain, we now believe it to be so, we tend to let fear take over (Love is the answer, not fear :) )and we unlearned to listen to our bodies and lots of women (too many) have to listen to others in childbirth, due to fear.
I know like no other that it's all not true. I had my two youngest children unassisted and they were absolutely painless.
Congratulations to you both and I wish you your dream-birth!

I'm so happy for you two! Babies are the coolest. It's awesome you're doing it your way, mindfully, and in a healing way. Good for y'all! 💚💚💚💚💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

This is amazing news to me.
I thought about you at dinner and decided to come to Steemit for I don't know what. Now I do know!
I have come to tell you that it is very important for you to remember that we change the world one child at a time.
You (two) are beautiful and I hope you have a hundred more!
Blessings, blessings, blessings.
Much love.

P.S. Note that "orb" in the first gorgeous picture of you. Casual lens flare or not, it's up to you, but it's a great way to let you know everything is going to be more than okay. Blow it up and recognise the guiding spirit that is going to bless you and your child more than you know, yet.

this is so beautiful, thank you for sharing this magical journey, for being so honest about your feelings and the way that you have both grown with the growth of your baby. Such a beautiful moving read xxx

What a beautiful post. ❤ Thank you for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely gorgeous. You, the writing, life. I wish you a beautiful, empowering birth and many joyful years of motherhood. I'm grateful for the blessing of another being who will be a gift to this Earth largely because of loving, devoted, mindful parents.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @sagescrub! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 42000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 43000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

My friend @sagescrub, it is nice to read you and your family in one, I just want to say that I am so happy to be able to say Hello

Congratulations @sagescrub! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28