Digital Vintage Photography

in #photography7 years ago

Hey everyone !

A few weeks ago I edited some photographs I took in July when my girlfriend and I visited both her and my families for a few days.

I use Adobe Lightroom and usually, when I sort through all the shots I took, I delete a lot of them (not the RAW files, I just delete them from my Lightroom Catalog, so I don't edit them). I would guess that I edit maybe 5% of the shots I take and I publish maybe 2-3% on Instagram, Facebook and Steemit.

So basically, most of the images I take sink into the depths of my hard drive (which I am totally fine with).

This time, however, there were quite a lot of pictures, besides the ones that I thought were good anyway, that were too bad to publish, but too good to throw away, at least in my opinion.

I'm not a photography visionary or some kind of genius, I didn't invent anything new or anything like that. I simply thought about how I can make some of that photos a bit more appealing, at least make them worth publishing. When I'm not satisfied with the colors of an image at all (in the sense of not finding anything harmonic at all of if I find the colors distracting) I often switch to black and white, which basically lead me to this idea.

Long story short: I tried to create some kind of vintage look (b&w, low contrast, lower dynamic range, large grain), but with modern equipment (Panasonic GH5, 12-60mm 2.8-4 and 25mm 1.4).

This is what I came up with:

P1222003.jpg
My girlfriend's little sister's dog after hearing some noise outside...

P1233003.jpg
...and after realizing there's nothing there :)

P1222089.jpg
Yep, they got a cat as well

P1222056.jpg
That's the view from their balcony (Neufelden, Mühlviertel, Upper Austria)

P1288135.jpg
Same place, but shot in a different direction

P1288037.jpg
Going for a drive

P1255785.jpg
Going for a walk

P1255780.jpg
Heading for the sun

P1288138.jpg
One of the many rainy days this summer

P1188110.jpg
Exploring nature...

P1288006.jpg
... and everything you can find there

P1288005.jpg
What appears to be trash can still be interesting...

P1188085.jpg
... especially in large amounts :)

P1188031.jpg
Focusing on the little things

P1188019.jpg
My hometown (Bad Hofgastein, Salzburg, Austria)

P1188005.jpg
Filming and photographing around an old railway bridge

Thanks for reading, I hope you like what you saw.

Maybe I could encourage some of you to try something new with your photographs.
Not necessarily new for photography, maybe just new for you, maybe something you've never done before.

Next time i'll tell you how i wrecked my main camera, the Canon C100 (including pics).

Feel free to follow me on Instagram or Facebook, if you like :)

https://www.facebook.com/stagetwofilms/
https://www.instagram.com/s2films/

Sort:  

This post received an upvote from elizahfhaye. If you would like to receive upvotes from elizahfhaye on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @elizahfhaye

Congratulations @s2films! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51