Tips and Tricks for the Fuji X-T2 and also should you upgrade from the X-T1?

in #photography7 years ago

This post is about a few things I’ve noticed while upgrading from the X-T1 to the X-T2 plus a few tips and tricks I've found useful. These findings are purely based on my experience and would like to know if you’ve noticed the same or uncovered any other tips or secrets :)

_RLC5615.jpg FujiFilm X-T2

At first, after shooting with the X-T1 for about a year, I was quite undecided whether I should upgrade to the X-T2. My X-T1 was an already an excellent camera which never gave me any issues! I even chose to use this over my D750 and D810 Nikons for casual shooting as it was a lot more fun plus I could use almost any lens from any time period or manufacturer (with the correct adapter) and still have infinity focus.

I, of course, was quite curious to see how much better the X-T2 was so, I did keep my eye out for good deals on the X-T2! Amazingly, the wait was over! The best deal of all time (for me) came up and I didn’t think twice!

Now, it was time to really see what all the talk was about!

By the way, I use these cameras without the battery grip as I don’t need it (at the moment) and prefer the portability over enhanced frame rate and video abilities.

So, to keep this article fairly short (really, it was supposed to be!), I’ve compiled a list of things I believe will be useful to know if you're deciding on upgrading.

Here are some simple points about the X-T2 I hope will help you decide on upgrading if you were thinking about it. Again, these are directly compared to the X-T1 and only my experience:

_RLC5581.jpg Here's a comparison of the Fuji X-T1 and X-T2 side by side.

_RLC5582.jpg Here is the back view with the X-T1 on the left and the X-T2 on the right

_RLC5583.jpg Here is the top view with the X-T1 on the left and the X-T2 on the right

Some Points:

Is the X-T2 better? Yes, in just about every way. It’s not like it’s a different camera but it has boosted capabilities and added more functionality plus increased its resolution and bettered its image quality. It also has dual card slots and a more advanced articulated LCD screen. I also like the ‘C’ on the exposure compensation dial.

Is the image quality noticeably better? Yes, I must say I didn’t see the big difference immediately but when I took a few shots with the X-T2 and when I went back to the X-T1, there was a huge difference.

Is it a necessary upgrade? No, the X-T1 is an incredible camera, it’s fun and 16mb is more than enough for most people. The camera can be used for professional jobs. I’ve also done some studio shots with this and was amazed at the clarity and resolution I got (by the way, I process my ‘raf’ files with Adobe Lightroom and Iridient)

Is it easier to use? Yes. The added joystick and the added ‘C’ on the exposure compensation dial makes a great difference in the speed of working the camera, therefore, you capture images faster and easier. Less missed opportunities!

Does it feel faster? Yes, it just feels faster. Ok so that’s not scientific but from an experiential point of view, the working of this camera feels more responsive and I’m getting shots I haven’t gotten before with my X-T1.

Is the ISO quality better? Yes, again there’s probably more than a 1 stop advantage but again, unscientifically, from my eyes, ISO 6,400 is quite useable and ISO 12,800 is ‘decent’ depending on what you're shooting. I’ve even used ISO 25,600 and it wasn’t that bad at all. ISO 51,200 is pretty bad :) but at least it’s there if needed! I was afraid to use ISO 6,400 on my X-T1. By the way, you will need to set either ISO 25,600 or ISO 51,200 to be ‘H’ on the ‘Sensitivity’ dial.

Is the X-T1 obsolete? No, not at all. I’ll easily take this as a backup camera or in conjunction with my X-T2.

Does it feel bigger? Yes, it does even though it’s not by much but I feel it.

Does it feel heavier? Yes, it is noticeable.

Is focus acquisition faster? Yes, greatly improved in my opinion. You feel the difference in speed immediately when you change cameras.

Is it easier to use manual focus lenses? Not sure. I don’t use the focus assist modes much, that is, digital split screen and focus peaking highlights. I just magnify the live image in standard mode and determine focus with my eyes.

Does the new joystick help? Yes, oh yes!! :) The joystick allows you to shift the focal points so easily, you never have to move your eye from the EVF.

Is battery life the same? No, not really :( Again, no scientific testing here, I just feel myself reaching for another battery much sooner than when I used the X-T1. I would easily have gone out shooting for a couple of hours on one battery but with the X-T2 on ‘boost performance mode’ I will definitely be on a second battery before returning home.

Here are some of the things I noticed immediately:

Temperature - As soon as I had the X-T2 in my hand, I went through the menu to change all the settings similar to what I had on my X-T1 but when I was finished, I found the camera noticeably warm. I thought it was overheating but after this, I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary with respect to heat just a bit warm. The X-T1 never changed temperature during shooting but the X-T2 does a bit and more so if you’re in the menu for a long time.

EVF and LCD - For some reason, I thought something was off with my X-T2 as it seemed a bit off tint (slightly purplish/bluish) when I looked through the EVF or LCD. I thought something was wrong with it but after adjusting the EVF and LCD brightness and colour, it seems perfect now. Maybe my eyes just readjusted to the EVF of the X-T2 but just wanted to point this out.

Firmware - Please make sure and upgrade the firmware, Fuji is well known for having excellent upgrades. I didn’t use the camera enough on the original firmware to know the difference when I upgraded to the current fireware.

Acros - I didn’t know what all the fuss was about but actually, Acros does look pretty good! I shoot in Raw + Jpeg but actually am considering jpeg for some shots just because they look so great!

Dual card slot - Aaaaahhhh, finally! I’m really pleased to have this feature as I had it on my Nikon D810 and Nikon D750 but was missing it on my X-T1. I feel completed now :) I like using it on sequential or backup.

Again, these are just the things that I noticed personally. There are many more tips or settings out there for different types of shooters.

Tips and tricks you may not know:

_RLC5619.jpg

Format SD Cards quickly - Press the Delete Button for 3 seconds then press the Rear Command Dial to get a quick option to format either of the SD Cards.

FN Buttons - Press the DISP/BACK button until the option to change Fn buttons come up, take your time and set these up. These really help with speed.

Exposure Compensation - The Exposure Compensation Dial was very useful on the X-T1 but the X-T2 has an option on the same dial called ‘C’ Use this then press the Front Command Dial to see an option between aperture and exposure compensation. Choose the exposure compensation and now, instead of turning the Exposure Compensation Dial, you just have to roll the Front Command Dial to set the exposure compensation :) Of course this depends on your style of shooting plus lens but this was a big plus for me.

Dual mode - To use Dual screen mode you need to be on ‘M’ mode on the Focus Mode Selector, then press the DISP/BACK until you see the Dual screen mode. If you do this on the EVF and want it on the LCD, you just need to do it there as well.

‘H’ ISO - When you set the ‘H’ to ISO 25,600 or ISO 51,200, you need to be in Mechanical Shutter for it to work. In other words, if you’re using Electronic Shutter, you would only get the native ISO 12,800.

_RLC5617-Edit.jpg

Stealth mode - If you are shooting on the street, at a wedding or in a library etc, you can use Electronic Shutter and the camera will be silent, just be careful about what you're shooting because when you're panning a fast moving object or there’s a lot of movement, the images tend to look bent or what they refer to in videography as ‘Rolling Shutter’ effect. I set my ‘Fn2’ button to shifting between, only Mechanical, Mechanical and Electronic or only Electronic shutter! By the way, you will need to go into setting to change the sound setup of the shutter to AF Beep and Shutter Volume to ‘OFF’

Lens Modulation Optimizer - Keep this on!

Joystick - This is great! Just move the joystick to any point on the screen to focus there without taking your eye off of the EVF and if you want it to come back to the middle at anytime, just click on the joystick twice and it will be centred.

Studio Shoots - This one is a neat trick, if you plan on shooting with flash in studio, you’ll realise if you, for e.g. set you shutter speed to 1/200, f10 and ISO 200, you’ll realise the LCD and EVF will be totally black, thankfully, all you need to do is going into the settings and look for Screen Set-Up, Preview EXP./WB in manual mode and switch this to OFF! That simple :)

Electronic shutter for bight situations - With my Nikons and other camera that have a max shutter speed of 1/4000 or 1/8000 you will need an ND filter to shoot with an an aperture of f2, f1.8, f1.4 etc. With the Electronic shutter option you wont need an extra piece of glass in front of your lens because it can go all the way to 1/32000

IS mode - Keep this on the second option ‘Shooting Only’ and by the way, you’ll only see this in action while in continuous focusing mode, i.e. when you set the Focus Mode Selector on C. At least this is what I’ve noticed! The first option drains the battery too much and isn’t necessary.

Ok, I’ve only had this camera less than 2 weeks but was just excited to share my findings :)

By the way, here is a very important point! I have many lenses I’ve collected over the years, that being mostly Nikon and M42 lenses with only one Fuji lens.

_RLC5624.jpg The Fuji XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 lens

I never felt the need to acquire more fuji lenses but after getting the X-T2, I’ve decided to sell some of my lenses to get a Fuji 90mm f2 and also the 56 1.2. I now feel confident to use Fuji for professional work and at the same time still have fun! This in itself says a lot.

Thank you for reading my article and please feel happy to leave some of your findings as well.

Thank you!

Sort:  

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Very nice article. I feel I want to Upgrade to Fuji as well after reading this. I have heard lots of good reviews about this.

Fuji has really created an excellent camera! I'm sure you'll enjoy it if you got yourself one! :) Let me know if you do!

I will definitely let you know. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pratickr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52