Gritty Street Photography NYC

in #photography7 years ago

rainy day biking

If you look closely, you can see raindrops hovering mid air. And of course the sidewalk, street and everything else is wet. This is my favorite time to go out and shoot some photos. The already gritty and decrepit environment of New York city's 5 boroughs are even more striking after some rain. Everything has more contrast, highlights and visual interest.

bike2.jpg

Times Square

This is frankly my least favorite part of Manhattan. However work and various social commitments frequently have me transiting the area on foot. There is also that whole thing where Times Square has been the backdrop for numerous scenes in TV shows and movies. So it's somewhat corny to shoot candids in this area. But of course I'm always snapping shots, usually from the hip, to be less obvious. And I just could not trash this shot. Too much character in this mans face.

timesquare.jpg

One of the remarkable things to me about New York City and Manhattan in particular, is that even though the rents are sky high for people and businesses, there are old, crusty, obscure businesses still hanging on.
Here we have a coin collector store on east 32nd in midtown that has somehow clung to it's niche. Despite what appears to have been an unsuccessful break-in attempt.

coinbw.jpg

Sort:  

thanks! I like sharing my photos with other people.

super..😍

Thanks, I try and do my best, though I'm just an amateur.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49