You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you ate today, thank a farmer. My tribute to the people who feed us. (3 of 7)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

This is a wonderful post @yostopia. My family just visited Nebraska. I was talking to my wife's high school friends that have farms there. They talk about how the town failing and the small farms are disappearing. We go there every five years and it seems to get worse and worse every time we go. I talked to a high school teacher there in Nebraska and he says the kids don't want to stay in the family farm after high school graduation. They are all leaving to the city and want to be in computer programming, science, engineering etc... I was in biotech for most of my career but sometimes I think we are creating too many scientist and engineers. All these college grads can't even find jobs. Our biggest client at my company was Monsanto. I don't know what the answer is. I think people like yourself creating awareness. We always support our local farmers markets. Thanks for the post and you portraits/photos are lovely. Cheers.

Sort:  

Yup if we don't take action soon, it's going to be a whole 'nother world around here. Check out some of the posts about farms from @anwenbaumeister ... she went to a conference in Sacramento recently about this and visited some farms that are making great strides in educating the next generation of farmers.

Yes, I had this similar chat with her on her post. Take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44