Forrest Gump's Iconic Running Scene Location - Photographer's Bucket List

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Photoblog by @runrudy

Today, I want to share one of my favorite bucket list images with you.

Who doesn't love Forrest Gump?

This is the spot where Forrest decides to stop running after three years, two months, 14 days and 16 hours.


Sony A7RM2 with 90mm

Location: Monument Valley, Utah on Highway US 163.

Map image source

It is almost at the four corners of Utah, Colorado, Arizona, and New Mexico. There's nothing much out there but road and clouds.

It is not an official tourist spot so there are no signs or directions. I took this image at mile marker 13. Other than that, it is really just a Google maps waypoint. You kinda don't know about it unless you are purposely going to see it.

Warning: It's a downhill, two lane, very fast highway. You better have a spotter to avoid becoming road kill.

Some folks were being very liberal about just standing in the middle of the street. I think they thought the cars would just magically slow down for them. I could tell the semi-truck drivers didn't care. One of them blasted their horn at a family trying to use a selfie stick for a group picture.

So, if you are ever traveling around that area, check it out, mark it off your bucket list and make sure you watch out for all the Gumps in the road.

Run Forrest Run!!!


Image source

If you liked this:

Follow / Upvote / ReSteem to support my work.

Thank you in advance,

Rudy

Late%20Date%20Steem%20Final%203-M.jpg

@runrudy

All images © 2016 Rudy Gonzales. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Beautiful location. Bet it has nicer weather than where I'm at too :0

Interesting project heh, are you going to go to all of his stops?

Hey there @jamtaylor. That would be cool. We traveled from CA to Nebraska and back. Actually the only other places I remember Forrest running was here, Santa Monica Pier and maybe Maine? I have some images from Santa Monica but that place is always a zoo. From CA to Nebraska is tough with kids and two dogs. I don't think we can go much further than that. Have a nice weekend!

I am here trying to think of where Nebraska is without looking it up! Somewhere in the middle? Lots of horses?

You are right. It is like right in the middle. It is all flat lands with corn fields. I saw more cows than horses though. We visit every few years as the inlaws have a farm out there. It is a nice change of pace vs. San Diego. One funny thing I did see was pig wrestling. It was serious business and with real betting going on. Little bit different activities but nothing but the nicest people there. Have you always lived in that cool tropical oasis? Where are you from originally?

Yes I have always lived here, and my family has been here or in this area for many generations :)

Right on. That's cool.

Looks like you went HDR with that shot. I could be wrong because the sun was probably hitting everything and there's little shadow outside the distant formations. I like the style of it.

Yes, this would be I think 18 images total. We got there at about 11 o'clock and it was hot.
9 images bracketed with 1.0 EV steps for the foreground in focus.
same for the background another 9 images with 1.0EV steps to be in focus. Clean, edit and blend in some unicorn dust and a few hours later be merry. Glad you liked it. Cheers.

Excellent photo!

Thanks @daveks! Have a good one.

It is a Monument Valley kind of day! I love it.

Yeah, I send you a note on your post. I apologize for any confusion. Great minds think alike I guess. Have a nice weekend @bmwrider

Its wonderful to share a special place like this. The desert is an amazing place.

Wow, gorgeous shot! I love Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. :o)

Seriously, one of the best movies ever. Tom Hanks is just one of the best actors. I haven't seen his new one yet but I am sure it is fantastic. Thank you @birdie!

Awesome shot, love it! You have a new follower now :-) Sunny regards from Canary Islands

Thank you @trevor.george. I am happy that you like it. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67343.52
ETH 3227.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65