Afternoon walk with my baby boys in the heart of downtown. Murals, painted fire hydrants, a huge oak tree and the California sky

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Central Valley California is beautiful this time of the year. I live in the heart of the San Joaquin valley, in the thriving downtown of Visalia California. It's not Amsterdam, but we call it home.

The early morning walks or later afternoon walks are such a positive part of my life with my baby boys.

This very large Valley Oak Tree has managed to survive throughout all the years of development in the downtown area. You wonder if it was ever considered for the chopping block throughout the years. I walk by this beautiful tree every day and I stop to look at it every time.

Steemit has reminded me that I'm surrounded by beautiful things, and I want my sons to appreciate the beauty of their surroundings.

This Coca~Cola advertisement was discovered when a building was demolished. I wasn't the happiest when I saw the repaint, but it will last until the building is destroyed.

All of the Visalia's Main Steet Fire Hydrants "Art on Fire" are painted by local Artists.

Daniel touched every Fire Hydrant on our walk this afternoon and it seemed to relax him.

The perfect time to take a photograph is now. Took this photograph at the Coca~Cola mural

This large mural is adjacent to the Coca~Cola mural

Without Steemit, I would of never took the time to appreciate all the art that is less than 1/4 mile from my home.

Thank you for viewing the photographs of our afternoon walk downtown

Sort:  

@runridefly That OAK tree and most if not all oak trees in California are protected. I don't think you can legally cut one down, even on your own private property. The tree would have to be re-located before chopping. Just an FYI
I do love Cal oak trees btw.

@streetstyle, they cut them down around here especially outside of city limits. Unfortunately, drought has killed a lot of them in recent years.

right, dead or dying is key. And again, even if dead or dying on private property, you still need some sort of permit. Homeowners have been fined Hundreds of thousands of Dollars simply from pruning Oak trees, so never mess with a living Oak tree.

Beautiful pictures my friend @runridefly. You have a nice family, congratulations

@jlufer, always appreciate you comments.

Thank you very much my friend @runridefly much appreciate your collaboration, Karma exists you doubled your actions thank you very much

@cognoscere, thank you my steemit friend.

@runridefly I was in California, but is very short. In LA and one weekin Big Bear Lake. I liked it veееry much!!

@grisha-danunaher, born and raised in California.

That's actually a cool idea. Love the idea of letting local artists express themselves on the fire hydrants.
Great pics, @runridefly
Appreciating the beauty around us is often lost amidst our need for instant gratification and technological advances. All too easy to walk with our noses buried in our phones and miss all the great things around us.

@blancobasura, life is too short not to stop and smell the roses. Thank you for the comment.

Great photos of some great street art. Yo are lucky to live in an art appreciating community. Great for your family :)

@ervin-lemark, i am fortunate to live in such an artistic community. Thank you for the comment friend.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.05 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Very cute! That mural is also amazing.

I have been busy, i must get to your posts more often . . .

my emmail is ggt196 at gmail.c plz call ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62593.28
ETH 3105.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86