Mittenwalder Klettersteig

in #photography7 years ago

A few days ago I was trekking/doing a via Ferrata (or Klettersteigen) in Mittenwald in Bayern, Germany.
WP_20170813_012.jpg

The Mittenwalder Klettersteig or Mittenwalder Höhenweg is a nice track with wonderful views and is not technically hard, but if you don’t like heights this is not the best track to start with.
WP_20170813_020.jpg

I started by going up the Karwendel Bahn from Mittenwald. The lift takes you from 933 meter over the sea level to 2244 meter in a few minutes and saves you a lot of time and effort. It costs about 20 euros, which is as much as the train ticket back and forth from Munich to Mittenwald.
WP_20170813_002.jpg

Well up you can enjoy the view and refreshments from the restaurant at the lift. From here there are many nice walking/via ferrata routes to choose between. I chose route A (see picture) of the Mittenwalder Klettersteig and came back to the lift on route B.
Sommertafel_Sitour_Flyer_ok.jpg

Route A is very beautiful with wonderful views and took me about 2 hours. It is one the best routes I have done but it is mostly a walking route (not klettersteigen) even if there is the security line along most of the route. It has though narrow passages and very steep elevation on the sides of the path, so if you’re not used to that this might not be the best route for you. Technically the route is quite easy.
WP_20170813_021.jpg

After route A, I went down to Brunnsteinhütte along route E and then back to the Bergstation (to where I went with the lift) along route B. This was still less of a klettersteigen than route a but it was good exercise with nice views. After a while the clouds ruined the view a bit but I had the opportunity to spot a Chamois, which made a funny sound when it run away from me.
WP_20170813_040.jpg

WP_20170813_046.jpg

The route from Brunnsteinhütte to Bergstation (route B) took about two hours also. I was at the lift just before the last tour down at 18:00 but I chose to go down the skiing route (route D&I). This route was a quite steep walking route and is possible to be made in under two hours.
WP_20170813_007.jpg

From the Bergstation one can also make the Karwendel Klettersteig (route number 274). I noticed it when I had made route A and B and was too tired to even try. The route looked quite hard and I think you need to be a pretty good climber to do that klettersteigen. The routes I did (especially route A) were magnificent and not hard. I recommend them warmly!
WP_20170813_051.jpg

Here are a few videos from Youtube of the klettersteigen and a link. These footages are not mine.


Sort:  

Interest video friend.

Wow, those are some amazing photos!

I would've never been able to go through those trails with my fear of heights, even with the security lines. :D

Thanks! With fear of heights it is definitely not safe to do that track but you could test with one that doesn't have that kind of views!

This would be me at that location. :P

hahaha, funny video. the guy still wins over himself and get out to the edge and have a look!

great post, thanks @runningmind. we live in stuttgart near Munich but we´ve never been there. what a shame. upvote and following you

Thanks! You should definitely give it a try, I guess it doesn't take more than 3 hours with your Mercedes-Benz ;)

following you as well now!

Das sieht nach einer tollen Tour aus, auch wenn ich eher der Meermensch bin.

Kennst Du schon mein Travel with Detlev Serie über die verschiedenen Plätze der Welt.

Es hat einer tollen Tour gewesen. Ich habe auf einen Insel erwachsen und ich liebe auch die Meer! Ich kenne nicht aber ich folge jetzt Ihnen, so bald kenne ich!

I love this place, but you have to be in good shape, l am following you for more

The area is fantastic, I would love to live in there! Have you been in the area often? Following you too now!

I normally stay in Switzerland as main hub and venture out over Europe from there

Good location! Quite close to everywhere in Europe and a magnificent nature!

I will post photos of there one day, love my mountain top place there.

You're brave man but I'm fear of heights. :((

The views are definitely worth a small fear but doing the track with severe fear of heights isn't to recommend.

You're brave man but I'm fear of heights. :-D

this is amazing

thank you !!

This is nature! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35