A stroll in Helsinki

in #photography6 years ago

Hey Steemians and greetings from a frosty Helsinki!

Yesterday was the best weather in Helsinki for several weeks, a few minus degrees with a clear blue sky. It was a great day to go for a 22 kilometers run in the Central Park. Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pics as I was only enjoying the run and the weather.
I was gonna write about the lightshow Lux Helsinki, that is on now (6th to 10th of January). This is an exhibition of the art of light on several different places in downtown Helsinki.

I went to the starting point on the opening evening on Saturday but as it was really crowdy I decided not to go that evening. For not coming in to the city center in vain, I decided to go for an alternative stroll around the southern parts of Helsinki. IMG_20171129_173300.jpg
Helsinki City Hall lighted in respect to the Finnish 100 years of Independence. This pic is about one month old.

I was especially impressed by the houses in Eira, which probably is the most expensive part of Helsinki. For you, not familiar to the town, Eira is a residential area in jugend style consisting of villas, that were built for about one hundred years ago. The area is the southernmost in Helsinki and has a gorgeous sea-view. People living here are considered to be rich and here are several embassies and restaurants.
IMG_20180106_192421.jpg
The tower in the Koff park in Punavuori.

I hope, I will get you some photos from Lux Helsinki lightshow still! It depends if I’ve time to go into the city center in the coming days. Waiting for that you can watch some pictures from the official website!
https://www.luxhelsinki.fi/en/
Last year the show was visited by over half a million people (source: https://www.is.fi/kotimaa/art-2000005042594.html). That doesn’t maybe sound so much but I consider it being a lot in a city of 630 000 people. I guess more people will visit it this year.

Have a good one!

Sort:  

Great to know about your place helsinki, i should plan to visit there on this summer holidays .

Thanks, definitely you should!

terrific, I love doing 20km runs too, so far I ran one marathon, and several half marathons. Nordic countries are terrific. I've seen Sweden but not yet Finland and Norway. Denmark has a good culture too.

Thanks! Cool, I have done only a few of each. What is the best half marathon you've done? Finland is beautiful with its lakes and forrest but honstly nothing compared to the fjords of Norway.

Yes, I must manage to get time to visit the fjords of Norway, that is just priceless to see with images, so being there would be even more priceless. Apart from that, speaking about half marathons, I did my first one when I was 20, only 3 years after I started running seriously about 30 kms per week (now I do about 50 to 80 km per week, without forcing myself, I've become addictive :D). As for my 1st half marathon, I did it after doing some 5-mile challenges. But I never did something in-between, like 10 kms. I preferred to do a half marathon first and then 10kms would look easier. That's the same feeling I got with half marathons once I did a marathon. So to sum it up I did 1 hour and 27 minutes, was quite proud as I really gave everything, but didn't really have a real "running plan". I relied on my own "peak periods" and "weak periods" to run like I felt was the best way to do it. Eventually sometimes to motivate myself I tried following someone running faster than me. That helped me a lot. Now I'm a bit more experienced, so I did a few more half marathon and 10 kms ; my best time on half marathon is 1 hour 20 minutes. My aim is to go under this limit now. The best runners make it in 1 hour and a few minutes, so there's room for improvement, but those 15 minutes are the hardest to reduce, as at that pace, 15 minutes is really some long time. My best time on 10 km is 35 minutes I think. And the only marathon I did it in just a bit less than 3 hours, 2 hours and 58 minutes I think. I have more room to improve there. But again, it was a learning experience, I know the best runners make marathons in about 2 hours and a few minutes. You gotta keep training. As I love it there's no problem. I will post soon about my experience too.

Cool! You're an talanted runner I see, looking forward to hear more from your experiences! Do you have any special half marathon you would recommend? I think my favorite this far is Vilnius Marathon.

Not really, I just take them as they come. But I really want to try some out of my country. I did them all in France.

The tower looks cool at night. The design is like the time when vampire stories are everywhere. Effect of watching to much bloody movies.

Yeah, you´re right. I wanted to just run throught the park but I won over my instincts and stopped and took a picture (and then continued to run :D)

I Voted You.Please Upvote Me

I suggest you don't beg for vote or vote a post hoping you'll get a vote back. Try voting with genuine appreciation my friend. It feels a lot better ^^

Um , far away from homw . Home sweet home .
How easy was it for you to get adapted with the people , the culture , tradition and the way of traveling over the region ?
Was it difficult to introduce to you to introduce yourself to the new time zone?

I am from here so I didn't need to adapt. This also makes it hard to answer objectively on your questions.

Oh, i am getting it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87