An Autumn Afternoon on Mireuk Island – Tongyeong, South Korea Travelogue

in #photography7 years ago

For the most part, I consider myself lucky to be living out in the Korean countryside. It definitely has its challenges, but any complaints usually go away when I’m out and about in the mountains, forests, and seaside. I experienced this yet again yesterday when I took an afternoon drive on the island of Mireukdo in Tongyeong (통영 미륵도).

I started with the picturesque Miraesa Temple (미래사). Fall colors were in full swing and the place was bursting with color.

After exploring the temple for a bit, I headed over to the forest across the road. Here a path leads to a Buddha statue overlooking the sea. Personally, I’m more drawn to the trees and the forest path.

Next on the agenda was Yeonhwa-ri (연화리). This west-facing village is great for sunsets and fishing. I’m no fisherman, but it was interesting watching the fishermen, boats and people tending to their fish/oyster farms.

Finally it was sunset and time to go have a barbecue with friends in the area (actually the real reason I was out there ;)). It wasn’t the most dramatic sky, so I decided to focus on Mr. Sun himself.

I even had a bit of time to take a selfie, or “lensfie”.

Well, that’s about it for my mini travelog. These shots were all taken within a couple of hours and at only two spots, so you can guess at the wide variety of scenery you can find on the island. If you are ever in Tongyeong, I definitely recommend you take a drive around Mireukdo.

Photographer’s corner:

All photos were made using my Fujifilm X cameras and lenses with Cokin P-series filters

Plus an old Pentax Manual lens:

Thanks for reading and see you next time! Please feel free to upvote, resteem and follow me for more photos and stories! Have a great day!

Sort:  

You are gifted, keep taking good photos and share with us.

Cheers,
@Yehey

Will do! Thank you! :)

Very nice shots.

Dude! Awesome pictures! You got a photographer talent for sure. I have always wanted to visit Korea. I have several friends here in Colorado who are Korean and I ask them questions about Korea all the time. It was cool watching that little league baseball team from Korea wrecking shop in the World Series a couple years ago too! Keep the pictures coming. I'm upvote you for sure.

Haha that's awesome! Hope you can visit Korea sometime!

Your photos are wonderful. The colors are so vibrant and amazing and the composition is so interesting to look at. Thank you for sharing!

Wow you took wonderful photos. I really like it.
Thanks

Gorgeous photos! I hope to visit one day and see it all for myself. Nature can be so vibrant and alive and you certainly captured that wonderfully. Keep em coming..

Thank you! I hope you can visit Korea as well! It's a beautiful place.

@roytc123 awesome images - thanks for sharing!

Have you considered embedding a watermark or signature in your images and promote?

Thank you! Most of my images do have a watermark, but I'm not sure what you mean by promote.

@roytc123 simply ask bloggers to include one of your images with a source link to your website for purchase or to hire you. No worries where ever you display your images they are self-promoting! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44