My Sri Lanka Tour - "Sri Lanka and its Spices"

in #photography7 years ago

Sri Lanka is known for its spices. I decided to visit some spices garden during my stay there. I had informed our guide Mr. Sunil Gamage to ensure that visiting spices garden should be in our sightseeing list. He managed a visit to Pinnawela Spices garden on our way to Kandy.  

Spices are elements of history. They were one of the chief trades during the period of conquering. In many empires cinnamon and cloves are honoured as currency. Countries like Sri Lanka and Indonesia are long regarded as fertile land for growing spices. Mainly Arab traders controlled this eastern spices trade until the 15th century. Then Europeans reached the shores of Asia, took control of the trade of spices from the Arab’s hands. They changed the socio cultural scenario of Asia for good.  

Some pictures of the Pinnawela Spices Garden:  

  1. Cardamom

  2. Peeper  

  3. Cocoa  


Spices are mainly grown in hilly parts of Sri Lank with major gardens situated around Matale. Major spices from Sri Lanka included Cardamom, Cinnamon, Peeper, Cloves, Cocoa, Nutmeg, Coriander, Fenugreek, Cumin, Sweet Cumin and curry leaves.


follow me on steemit AND resteem it


verify rep sp posts followers curation

>>Thanks to @elyaque for designing my badges :)<<

                     MY STATS
   REPUTATION SCORE : 68.7 | TOTAL FOLLOWERS : 761
   TOTAL BLOG POSTS : 577 | TOTAL LIKES : 40429
   TOTAL EARNINGS   : $7526.74
Sort:  

انا احب النباتات جيدا

Nice photos. :)

Those colorful spices are mind-blowing and Asian countries cannot live without the spicy food @royalmacro

thanks man, I have never seen spicy plants :D

wonderful shots

i could nearly swear I went to the same garden 3 years ago ;-)

wonderful place :)

I Like your photos!

So cool @royalmacro :)

I'm new to this website. Liked your post!
I'm doing a Travel Blog, check it out :)
Hope you like it and if so, please follow me :)
Gave you a follow.

Very good work dear friend @ royalmacro, always very instructive, I really like learning new things, thank you very much for sharing these species
have a beautiful day

thanks ....... let me know if my auto upvoting is working fine on your account too :)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $47.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17