You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lots of talk about stolen images lately. ALLOW ME TO INTRODUCE YOU TO PIXSY.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I thought digital watermarks were what professional image creators used as a means of protection?

Sort:  

Of course, but not just for security. It's also used as a calling card (obviously).
Here's the problem:
https://www.theverge.com/2017/8/18/16162108/google-research-algorithm-watermark-removal-photo-protection

I'd also like to point out that a family with images online sometimes don't even care about the watermark. I've had clients in the past yank them from the internet, PRINT THEM with their godawful inket printer, and then send me a picture of it hanging on their wall going, "Doesn't my printer do such a great job!!!" Without a thought in their mind about what they'd just done.

Jeez that's insane!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61829.34
ETH 2395.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63