Organic Gardening is not for Sissies - Part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_5482.JPG

Don't be fooled by these pretty little flowers...
...if you've never seen them, they are from a plant called "Bindweed". Bindweed is DEMONIC!

Because it is a vine, it grows very quickly, crowds out and wraps itself around what you're trying to grow and strangles it to death. It is impossible to pull out by the roots and it punches through weed barriers. Did I say it was demonic?!!!

IMG_5452.JPG

This hillside is my little "farm". As I mentioned in the previous post, it is where I'm growing my apple and pear trees as well as various berry bushes. I started this process five years ago. And at that time, all that would grow on that hillside was bindweed, thistles and goat heads. It was so bad that my dog wouldn't even take a dump over there.

IMG_0625.JPG

Here's my dog, Maserati, working on his latest Steemit post.

Anyway, back to why this isn't for sissies...I asked my neighbor what to do about it. He said to kill it with Amine a somewhat discriminating herbicide. Well, I'm an organic gardener, so what to do?

IMG_5479.JPG

Only one thing I can do, don the leather gloves, get on my hands and knees and start pulling. Not for sissies!

Sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do. I don't like it, but I do like to see results. It's taking a while, but when I get things like this growing it's all worth it.

IMG_5224.JPG

IMG_5458.JPG

What's the peskiest weed in your garden...or in your "garden of life"?

Sort:  

Awesome job beating back the invader! Weeds are bad enough. Vines are a whole 'nother level of misery.

Rose and grape vines are my nemesis. Creeping charlie is up there on the list, too, but it's not as 'in your face' as the first two.

Creeping Charlie...ugh! How much area do you have for your garden?

This is my container garden / firepit area. There used to be a swimming pool in this spot, so it's pretty large. The buckets help keep my plants out of reach of the stuff, but it's all over our neighborhood. I think the only way to get rid of it, would be to remove the topsoil, replace it with 'fresh'... start over from scratch.

Wow!

morning glory seems to be the most invasive in my garden, no matter how many times I pull it there will always be more in a couple days

Impossible to get by the roots too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66