You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I enjoy Burning Man

in #photography8 years ago

I grew up not far from Burning Man; it has always been a part of my life. The art truly IS amazing, as you say. The Playa is a most mystical place. And so is the black rock desert, littered with obsidian. Arrowheads used to be so plentiful when I was a child out there, that they littered the ground as if it was an ancient battleground. Maybe it was. Now, it has but all been picked through, and the occasional find, is even that more sacred. Thank you for sharing. Nudes from the man are also good. :D

Sort:  

Hi, thanks for engaging! My boyfriend has worked for the DPW for over 11 years helping to build the city. He made friends with one of the managers known as "Cowboy Carl" who lives in Wadsworth that claims he found a 12 inch spear head. Instead of keeping it he gave it to a native Indian in town. I'm sure there's still artifacts like that to be discovered if one wanted to venture out farther. A few years back I had the pleasure of camping out at Trego Hot Springs and, quite frankly, like the desert much better without all the people. But Burning Man has it's merits, I guess. My impression of the event was like many others who didn't know much about it. Just a bunch of dirty hippies in the desert taking drugs and having sex. Well, that still may be true but there's a lot more going on than that. Three years ago my boyfriend wanted me to join him there and experience it from the inside as a DPW volunteer. I did and glad I had that experience as it gave me a unique perspective. I'm amazed at how something as huge as Burning Man can be built from scratch every year. It's the third largest city in Nevada when it's fully populated...at least that's what I've heard. This year we had a wonderful opportunity to have a plane ride over the city and desert mountains. We could see the Calicos clearly and had a bird's eye view of the top of the Razor Backs. So cool! Anyway, I would like to go back out there again and do some exploring. The desert definitely has some ancient mojo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43