City night lights - PDX, A Photo Journal [ORIGINAL]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Venture with me into the industrial park of East Downtown Portland...

We left that night in search of CBD oil beer (YES REALLY!). But, by the time we got there, the keg was already dry. :-( Very sad news, but the camera knows of no such news...The camera had a blast as we ventured from bar to bar, down the strip.

Top 15

Imgur

Fenced off Wall (1)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 800
This is what my eye caught first - I even caught another passer-by checking it out too, while we hung around and smoked. The way the light illuminates the empty lot leaves room for many fantastical creatures to emerge from the shadows...any minute now. Any minute now an 80's dance team is going to enter from stage left and right and take over the scene.


Imgur

Burnt Wall (2)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 800
I couldn't help but capture the mystique. This walk up to the promised night-life held more history than in any other part of the city. Down by the waterfront, closer to the water than the bridge will take you, these back streets house late-night commercial activity. I was worried at first, that my phone would not pick up the light, but it did!! And to my excitement, the auto-focus worked brilliantly on my Samsung S3! Quite excellent!!


Imgur

Trash on Street (3)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 800
Suddenly I felt like I was in GTA3 or some kid of zombie video game. I realized I had to entomb the way this trash looked all strung out in the night, forever.


Imgur

Stone Wall on Jupiter Hotel (4)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/17, ISO - 800
Very psychedelic and I would love to come back to the bar here. We were in a hurry after that dream keg but be had to stop and take some shots with these lights against the stone - it was too good. :D


Imgur

Couple a Cute Cars outside Michael's (5)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 250
I sharpened it up a bit. The whole bit is how much I love the way the lights bend into circles in the night in response to my camera lens. At one point it started to rain and I got some really excellent blurry light looks. Very excited - didn't hardly feel cold or wet. Though my fingers did, lol. I had to keep warming them up but they kept coming back out for more pain!


Imgur

Ceramic Shop through Chain-link (6)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 800
I took several of the shop but this one turned out the best. Really good shine on that fish. ;-)


Imgur

Tattoo Shop (7)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 800
After the disappointment of the tapped keg at East Burn, we turned back for the best food we could find. It was then I took this shadowy shot. This was also my second shoot in which my friend modeled for me! :-)


Imgur

First stop - Sizzle Pie! (8)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 800
I had the Christmas Special (had bacon on it) and it was amazing!!! :-) We were so hungry by the time we had walked all the way back down the street, but the suffering was well rewarded with some of Portland's finest PIE :-D YUM!


Imgur

Juke at Sizzle Pie (9)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 800
So romantic..a must capture.


Imgur

Back into the Night and Down the Street (10)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 320
Another one of my favorites. This is where it started to drizzle and I got really excited about blurry lights of color. :-)


Imgur

Blur of Colored Lights (11)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 250


Imgur

Acme Will Call - I knew Acme was real! (12)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 320
I really like the way the light falls from the door to the convenience store, too.


Imgur

Black & White - Trails of Trash, Under the Bridge (13)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 800


Imgur

Wall of Top Lights behind Barbed-wire (14)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 800
On the way back to the car, this had my name on it. I think it would look great as some graphic art poster design for some deep underground trashy band at a rave. :-) What are your ideas? XO


Imgur

Running to Catch the Light Overhead (15)
Aperture -ƒ/2.6, Focus - 3.7 mm, Exposure - 1/15, ISO - 800
Bonus photo! Cheers from your ladies in PDX! We had a blast! :D


Follow Robyn of Eggs for more Eggsciting Excellence!

RobynEggs Logo

Sort:  

Great imagination! The first one could easily be a still from the thriller video :P My favourites are 10 and 11, love the halos. Thanks for sharing the adventure :D

We both like the halos!!! :D My fav's too!! :D XOXO Thanks for commenting!

My pleasure :)

Thanks again for sharing :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52