You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Philosophy of Photography - Episode 1 - Action!

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hey nice post!
I agree in principle with what you wrote, especially around the "defining moment" (e.g. when taking a photo of a model walking, there are a few precious instants that show him / her walking with purpose and all the rest looks like the model is moving limbs for no reason).

Since I do fashion photography I am less bothered (personally) with the objectivity aspect of photography. I am interested in portraying reality only when I take travel photos or photos of my daughter.

As per your photos, the first 2 definitely communicate (impeding) action to me. The last one a bit but only after I looked closely: the woman behind is almost completely invisible. The 3rd one not really... it looks quite static to me.

Sort:  

Thanks Roby!

You're spot on. The subject of the last photo isn't the action, it's focused too much on the woman in front.

As for photo three, I think I was trying to show that body positioning could give the feeling of action taking place. The announcers head is cocked back, and he's in mid ramble. Def more static than the other ones, and maybe doesn't fit with the rest of the article.

Thanks again for taking a look!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15