Black and White

in #photography7 years ago

If I had to choose, I am a color kind of photographer. Definitely.
My "history" as wildlife / travel / macro photographer before doing fashion made me appreciate color.

Sometimes, though, black and white makes sense. Well-made b&w photos always seem to have a greater impact and some people are fascinated with them.
My take is this: with b&w you eliminate details and tonalities, therefore you increase contrast and highlight the bigger shapes and lines of the composition. B&w makes sense to me when the composition and the purpose of the image work naturally well with it. One of the types of photography I can think of that lend themselves most "naturally" to b&w is architectural, where shapes reign supreme. Abstract and street photography are often b&w to focus on the subject.
B&w can be used for fashion photography of course, wherever the color component is not important and you're trying to tell a story rather than sell a dress or a make up product.

I do not have many examples of my own that I consider successful, but I can offer a couple :)
Juste and Sam on the pebble beach of Seven Sisters (UK), quite a literal shot at b&w

A "shy" Tunde in studio

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99