Dandelions and World Views: Improving My Perspective

in #photography4 years ago

For a whole week, I've been getting up on dawn, walking in the early morning sun in a week of beautiful weather here in England. It's been magical to see the diffuse light shift across wet fields, meet deer out for a morning dart with white bottoms fluffing, and feel my heart sing with the morning chorus of birds whose song sweeps across the hills. Woodpeckers tap out loud song, pheasants cluck, and robins prettily trill. I look for badgers, with no success, but meet black and white dairy cows and nod my head at rabbits.

On Easter Sunday, I watch the sun rise from towards Frome to the east, because I woke up half an hour before dawn, see the moon outside my window, and grab my camera and find a hill where I can watch the magic unfold. I sit and meditate until the lava like flow rises up from the blue-black horizon and softens into the sky. Then, I grab my camera, and two worlds zoom into focus - the world of the dandelion, tiny and seemingly insignificant, and the huge sun which we all worship.


image.png

The photographs aren't perfect - I'm still working out how to get a super sharp focus, and am likely relying on my auto focus a little much. If I switch the lens to manual, I don't get as much of the dandelion in focus. But I'm happy with the photos - the blue ones have a softness to them that is reminscent of that softness before the full light of day, and the darker ones contain the drama of shadows and violence of sunlight breaking through the early mist. I'd love to pull the one below into an editor and fiddle with it a little - it captures those graduations of colour as the sun breaks through.

image.png

It seems appropriate, the sunrise, for Easter. I don't follow Christianity, but I believe in the sun - the life it brings, the hope it spreads. You can't be unhappy sitting on a hill and watching a sun rise. I think about what I need to focus on as my world has shrunk down, and it's certainly this - the sunshine, and the tiny things in my landscape that make my heart leap for joy. What incredible archictecture is visible in the orb of a simple dandelion or a nettle! How amazing it is to watch the daffodils bob their bright heads at us and show the promise of summer ahead, the primroses and the celandines and the ramsons?

What we turn our attention to in these times matter. The more I am grateful for what we DO have, the more I am content, happy even. As the sun illuminates a magical world, so too can my attention shine light upon how bloody wonderful life is, and how lucky I am to breath in harmony with all the creatures that take breath on this warm April day.

With Love,




Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive



PeakD - The Best Way to Experience The Hive Blockchain


MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE
Discord II Community

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif
Creating Abundance for on Hive

Sort:  

bit of a post and run acount this .. goodby.

Hi @small1axe, thanks for dropping by with your comment. It's really appreciated. Hope you had a wonderful Easter.

I don't like running - it's bad for your knees.

I have one very bad knee . i only run for safety . ;-) . Its not that i want always a reaction to a comment, please no . But this i could not let pass . I hop you can understand . consider yourself followed again , by a small but mean power .

Oh, I totally understand!!!!

It takes me a while to get back to the comments, especially as I'm trying to live real life too, but I'll eventually get back to them all! I would never be so rude!

Compliments on your photo's , give me a bit of the feeling from where i originate , Just across the Noth sea . And while i write this , wild Greece jackhals howl not far from me . And for a morning walk in the sun , i can sleep late , as the mountain where i am on , blocks it until 9:00 .
If you ever can , visit Greece with a van , spring is so full of color and plantlife . Just amazing how things shoot up and grow . While yellow flowers shine on every inch .

Oh, I so wish we could drive there NOW! That was always the plan, but we're not allowed to leave the UK. You make it sound so poetic!

Then i advice to NOT check out my Hive posts i did today . It will only make you wanna go more . Putting you at risk of violating lockdown and shut border laws .
;-)

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @rehan12 and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on steem and show us more of your amazing work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54