Swamplife in northern Finland - Lapland photography - High res - Check out full size!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is a safeplace for birds. It is a swamp somewhere between Ivalo and Inari in Finland.

I have visited it many times. Maybe 5 times. But this time was different, because I actually had a proper camera with me. I know we need to buy some better lenses to get more epic sky shots but this will have to do for now! Enjoy! We took the photos with my wife 2 weeks ago on our trip to lapland.

A view from a birdwatching tower.
P8143982.jpg

Another view from the tower.
P8143985.jpg

Keltasompasammal (Splachnum luteum)
This is a moss that grows on the shit of reindeers and moose. Those little umbrellas are landing areas for flies that will carry and spread it's pollen.
P8144006.jpg

Cloudberry (Rubus chamaemorus) and Round-leaved Sundew (Drosera rotundifolia)
P8144009.jpg

Tahvo the lapphund. He is our beloved dog.
P8144012.jpg

Ahh the duckboard across the swamp.
P8144020.jpg

Sort:  

Hello rikusalomaki, great post Lapland is beautiful :)

Thanks! It indeed is. I guess you are from Norway? I have visited the ishavet many times. One of my favorite places on Earth... you know Varangerhalvøya and all the other peninsulas up there in the north. Beautiful!

Agree with you, I am from north of Nordland. Next month I will travel to Finmark. If I have time I will visit Kautokeinn the hart of Norwegian Lapland. Posts coming soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63612.81
ETH 3487.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50