Giant Butterfly from my Garden

in #photography6 years ago

sm_2555.jpg

Hi, Dear Steemian Friends

Today, as I was driving the motorbike back home after buying something in the village, I came across one of the big butterfly (in fact it is a moth) that lives in our region. This one must have been hurt by a car or a motorbike and was laying on the road. Usually, we see them flying around from time to time, and because of their massive size, they fly like one of those butterflies in a Walt Disney cartoon. Their fly is slow, compared to other butterflies and moths, and very majestic like gliding on the flow of air and using their wings very slowly as they displace a lot of air at each flapping. So, I stop the motorbike on the side of the road and come to see it. I took it in my hands and see that he still alive so I decided to take it back home to put him in a place where he can rest and regain his energy. I was having a bag with me so I remove some of the stuff in one part of the bag and put him in a way he cannot get hurt. I cannot let him during the trip back home just a few hundred meters be in contact with the wind flow because it will hurt him. This one isn't too big, some are even bigger, it is about 20 centimeters from wing to wing. I take a few pictures of him to share with you the beauty of his patterns and also you can see in some pictures that where are the white triangles it is kind of transparent. The name of this particular species is an Attacus Atlas Moth it is quite common in the mountains of Northern Thailand. I am not sure if he will ever fly again but I put him on a big Papaya leaf on the tree and hope he will make it. They live for 5 to 7 days and they cannot feed because they don't have a mouth so during their life as a moth they only feed on the energy reserve they accumulate during their Caterpillar life. Enjoy his beauty ...

sm_2556.jpg

sm_1090224.jpg

sm_2587.jpg

sm_2576.jpg

@ricko66

Sort:  

Hope this moth does survive and could fly again!
Very beautiful creature!

I would love to see him take a fly, but now I think he just waiting the time to enter a new realm.

That is amazingly beautiful. Beauty like that really makes you belive that there are other forces out there that have helped to form such beauty

I think all the people in the graphic or art field cannot "not to love it". The colors and the design is like a complicated artwork resulting from tens of thousands of years of evolution may be helped by the hands of someone, who knows? Thank you.

Wow! This is amazing .I also like butter fly.
Briar in greenish grass which express all of her beauty of love and attracts a nice butterfly ...i think it is just a nature of love ..and every moment of love is innocent just like this flower and butterfly..

FB_IMG_1538388036478.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77