Unintentionally Creepy Buddhist Statues

in #photography6 years ago

Typically, Buddhist and Taoist temples in China tend to be colorful places. Statues of luohan tend to be vibrant and flashy. Statues of Buddha and others also tend to be gold plated or golden colored. So, when you find a temple that doesn't follow that established pattern, it is immediately unique. Such is the case of Xiu Shan Temple in the northern part of Changzhou. The ceramic statues are unfinished, many of them show wide cracks and other damage. All in all, it looks a little creepy. 

Signage outside the temple says, essentially, the construction effort ran out of money. However, it is still used as a place of worship -- in short, open to the public. Here are some captures I took ....



Sort:  

For some weird reason i still liked it :P the third one though it's a bit creepy!

Don't get me wrong. I love the place. I appreciate how the place feels so unique and unlike so many other places I have seen in China. More photos to come.

looking forward for the photos!

I've been around Asia and I can say some of the things over there really are creepy, just like your images

@wales I live in a part of Aisa ...
i dont think so bro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81