Not Finding the Beauty of the Yangtze in Zhenjiang

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I once spent whole days trying to find the Yangtze River in Changzhou. This meant riding north on my electronic motorcycle, and only to find my view of the water blocked by huge industrial ports. That involved passing a lot of industrial parks and standalone factories. So, my wish to see an idyllic and historically important river, in the city I have lived in for years, has always been thwarted by China's  rampant industrialization. I did get to see the river, however. That was in the neighboring city of Zhenjiang.  There is a riverside park, and it is across the street from the Xijin Ferry historical site, which I have posted about before on Steemit. There is a twist to this story. But, I will save it until after the pictorial of the riverside public park.



So, what is the twist? The water behind these rocks is the technically the Yangtze River. Only, it's also technically not. It's not the river proper. Parts of the river consist of shipyards and bunch of islands. Is this the "mighty Yangtze" that I have read about in Chinese poetry translated into English? Um, no. No, it's not. I guess I have to keep looking for the "innate beauty" of the Yangtze River.

Sort:  

Another price paid in the name of progress.

Nice post and photos @richristow!!! You need to get yourself a boat or a paddle board, and then you will find it 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62