Junshan Park's 君山公园 Wall of Luohan

in #photography7 years ago

Junshan Park is a small public park in northern Jiangyin. I happened by it one day because I had come to the city to find the banks of the Yangtze River. I had done that, and it was sunny day. I thought I would stroll around a bit before taking the hour long bus ride back to Changzhou. Junshan struck me as a bit odd. First, it didn't really look open. Most of the doors were pad locked. One blue metal door was partially open and I pushed my way in. It seemed like somebody was using the park to grow crops, and other parts seemed a little overgrown and neglected. So, I thought not to stay long. Last thing I would want is some Chinese dude yelling at me for trespassing. I did, however, see a sculpture wall that caught my interest. I thought of taking some photos before quickly exiting. 

Understanding the basics of this work of public art requires some knowledge of Buddhism. In that religion, you have people called arhats. In Chinese, they are 罗汉, or luohans. These are people who attained enlightenment and purety, but they are on the lowest end of the spiritual ladder. If you were to compare them to Christian figures, you might call them "Buddhist Saints." Anyway, here are a few pictures of this massive wall in what seems to be a forlorn park. 

Sort:  

Really great photos, what a beautiful place!

Thanks. And, this particular wall is bigger that what the "whole picture" above suggests. I had to crop for size.

Lovely place, I wish to visit one day :)
Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65