History In Pictures

in #photography7 years ago

Anyone that has seen the film True Grit may at least have a passing acquaintance with Ft. Smith (AR). It's a true story of a girl in search of her father's killer and enlists the aid of a US Marshall, Reuben "Rooster" Cogburn (played successively by John Wayne and Jeff Bridges) What does this have to do with this post... Not much really, except that Ft. Smith was the last outpost before the Indian Territory (Oklahoma) where desperados would go to hide out because they didn't have local law enforcement. The Marshall's would get them and bring them back to be hung by Judge Parker. Ft. Smith is now the home of the US Marshall's Museum. Many of the Marshall's are buried here, the most notable being Bass Reeves (Whose statue graces the Museum front) whose biggest accomplishment was being black. Another of the lesser known Marshall's was a man named Samuel F. Lawrence (whose biggest accomplishment was being Samuel F. Lawrence). Marshall Lawrence is buried in our oldest cemetery, Forest Park...
Q004436-R1-20-20.jpg
The Lawrence family monument

Q004436-R1-19-19.jpg

Another of our unknown luminaries was a man named Luther B. Lake. I had an historian show up from Oklahoma City inquiring about Mr. Lake's gravesite, so I brought him out there. He explained that Lake was quite an interesting character (if you're interested in history). At 21 he served with Mosby's Rangers during the War of Northern Aggression. After being captured he was sent to a brutal prison in Maryland where he, his brother and another prisoner fashioned a raft and sailed across Chesapeake Bay to freedom. He rejoined his outfit but for some reason went AWOL. After being caught, because of his daring exploits, he was sentenced to only 90 days (usually you were shot) that he was allowed to serve on weekends. He died in 1921 of natural causes at the age of 78.

Q004436-R1-22-22.jpg

Canon EOS Rebel 35x80 lens (film)

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

Wow.

Fascinating stuff and nice B&Ws :)

Thank you... I'm kind of a beginner when it comes to photography!

those are amazing stories rich :)

Thank you my friend... I'm working on a post about my war (on behalf of the cemetery) and the City.

I like to see the history of places in photos and descriptions. Your camera work looks pretty artistic for a noob.

Thanks... I couldn't believe it took 8 days to develop a roll of B&W film!

Beautiful seen. wonderful photography.best of luck.go ahead bro.

Thank you! I found an old camera in a box of junk and thought I'd give it a go!

Excellent post!! upvote!

Thank you... I'm not very good at photography yet!

Very interesting content. I love post about history. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks... So do I- I've always been fascinated by history. Ft Smith is really a remarkable place. It began as a fort (obviously) and many of the officers here (ca. 1850) had gone to West Point and wanted culture- we have a great symphony and a theater company. It was the last outpost (as I said) and the gallows and old courthouse are still here. We had Miss Laura's- I'm sure you can guess what that was- which is an historic site.

So interesting. I have family in Little Rock but never toured Ft. Smith-just drove through.

I hate going to Little Rock... It's too big and I get lost!

nice one , would love to see more of your work

Thank you for telling some stories of dead people @rrichq11

The history of the pictures is always more beautiful when accompanied by words. So is your article. Keep going

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59117.70
ETH 2597.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43