Green Iguanas - Invasive or not?

in #photography7 years ago

I went on Vacation to the Florida Keys over the weekend and was very surprised at the number of Iguanas that i saw in Islamorada. I have been visiting the Keys for 20 plus years and each year i see more and more Iguanas, mostly Green Iguanas.

IMG_3645.JPG

Green Iguanas are herbivores (plant eaters) that are native to Central and South America and the Caribbean. They are said to have come to Florida as stowaways on ships from South America. Others were pets released by (or escaped from) their owners. They thrive in South Florida and are considered an Invasive species.

![IMG_3646.JPG]

For more info on the Green Iguana go here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_iguana

I hope you liked my blog on Iguanas. Let me know what you think.

Sort:  

There are an invasive species that had take over the island of Puerto Rico in recent years.

I am Groot! :D

Awesome. I love that guy. It made me laugh out loud...thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58