Oklahoma Trip To The Illinois River

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I found Pipevine Swallowtail Butterflies and Musk Thistles

I had friends tell me they thought Oklahoma was a dust bowel full of fundamentalist Christians. I haven't found any fundamentalist of any kind including atheist. I found lots of polite people who keep their opinions to themselves. I guess that is the famous Southern manners I've heard about. No one speaks of religion or politics in mixed company unless you drink some whisky with friends, then opinions fly thicker than bees around honey. The only thing I don't like about Oklahoma is the ticks and humidity.

Taken With Coolpix 900 by me!

I think the Pipevine Swallowtail is prettier than the Black Swallowtail butterfly. I will be painting this butterfly as well!

I didn't know what this strange thistle was, it felt alien and I was right, this thistle was accidentally introduced during the 1940s. This species grows on over grazed grassland and nothing will eat it, but I thought the flower bud was strangely beautiful!

I think this is the Red River, I could be wrong, I didn't pay attention to what my daughter was telling me, edit, my daughter just got home, it was the Illinois river.

European Invasive Species, Musk Thistle

Pipevine Swallowtail Butterflies

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

yes u r right humadity and heat is not accept...and all photos are wonder full specially to those plant

I come from the north where it rains all winter, ice storms and clouds through most of the year...I will like a delicate flower when it gets hot out!

I know it's not like that, but seems like the flower ate someone and now is completely happy about it:)

That flower is not from America, it looks like an alien pod being that will latch onto ones face and lay eggs in your belly!

This is fantastic and I love its ingenuity.

It's not that hard to sneak up on these butterflies, they are pretty laid back, but the Monarch butterflies are timid.

Those butterflies are beautiful. Great shots.

Hi @jonjon1 through research I found that there is a large family of these black butterflies, so far I've photographed the spicebush, black, and pipevine swallowtail.

Wow...another amazing post with nice camera clicks from @reddust
I think you have more creative camera eye...
W
E
L
D
O
N
E
superb work...
Resteemed your post...
Happy steeming....and keep it up post...
Cheers!..

Hi @dinisanda, Thank you very much for the resteem, I did enjoy this outing and need to get away from my painting studio more often.

These are So brilliant shots :D

You can't miss the great shots with such beautiful subjects @blazing, thank you !

you had an amazing exploring trip :D

Nature is always calling me to come and and explore...

the butterfly pics were outstanding one's

Oklahoma has some beautiful butterflies, too bad it's so hot and humid and full of ticks. I am a northern climate person and don't do well in hot weather...I wilt easy....lolol

Beautiful shots! Especially like the butterflies. :) They are one of my favorites.

I am going to make an effort to get out and take nature photographs. I pretty much stayed inside all summer working on my paintings. I do walk 4 miles a day, 2 in the morning and 2 miles in the evening. But I do miss interacting with nature. Oklahoma has a wild assortment of birds and bugs I like to photograph.

For the first time I see such beautiful butterflies. And how did they manage to get off close?

@dlina-v-metrah, I walked up as close as I could without startling the butterflies and used my focus on my camera to take close ups. The coolpix is a nice camera for people like me that know next to nothing about cameras and photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54