A Leek and A Bee

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

One of my favorite flowers is from the onion family. The leek is mild tasting, the edible parts are the bulb and the leaf. I use leeks primarily in soups, stews, and meat pies, Nutritional Data.

Leeks are easy to grow, I save seeds and save a lot of money. However, it's tricky saving seeds from the leek plant. If you have any other type of onion plant flowering in the garden or another type of leek, they will cross-pollinate. So I usually grow one type of leek and keep my onions in a garden on the opposite side of my two acre property. I start my seeds in a wet towel inside where it isn't too warm or cold. Onions like cool weather 60-65 degrees to germinate. Once the seeds have shown their little tap roots transplant to sterile dirt and set near light. Don't overwater or mold and fungus will set in and then the dreaded white flies....shudders. I start seeds six weeks before the last frost of spring, usually the end of May in Eugene Oregon.

A link to My Blog


Sort:  

The honey bees are still plentiful in the mountains and foothills of Oregon away from cities and agricultural areas. Once the bees die out and bee killing pesticides are banned forever we can replenish from the wild bees still growing and going strong.

Hopefully sooner rather than later.

It bums me out to see the declining number of bees in my area on a perennial basis (rural Idaho).

One of my main concerns regarding our world.

I have always failed at growing leeks. So I'm taking onboard your advice.

I do this with all my onion types, it works!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65