Bengal Kittens

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Bengal kitten in my lap

I was lucky enough to pet sit for a litter of Bengal kittens. If you've never met a Bengal, they are amazing creatures with some wild Asian Leopard Cat in their heritage. Most Bengals that are kept as pets are four (or more) generations removed from the wild cat pairing, but they still retain a hint of wildness that takes your breath away. They are about as gentle as a regular housecat, but they are very high energy and often continue the unpleasant (aka smelly) marking behaviors of their ancestors. For those reasons, they're not a good pet for everyone. But if you're a cat lover and have an opportunity to spend some time with them, you'll never forget it. It's probably the closest you'll ever get to hanging out with a wild carnivore.

Bengal kitten in my lap 2

The kitten below, Harley, was from a previous litter, and is about 12 weeks old here. The concerned look on his face is because he didn't choose that perch carefully and is about to capsize onto the floor. I stopped taking pictures long enough to rescue him. :-)

He also liked to help me clean his cat box by attacking the litter scoop and running away with the poop bag. Video coming soon.

Bengal kitten precariously perched

Sort:  

My mmate breeds them and they are so interactive. Also not scared of my dogs at all. Lovely animals.

I have an 8 month old boy. He is so much fun! He fetches and plays with my dogs.

Oh my goodness, they are adorable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97