South Florida Creature Adventure Part 3: The Sea WallsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

20180904_121952.jpg

We heard that the best place to find Iguanas was at the inter-coastal "Sea Wall".

20180904_122117.jpg

Confirmed! We saw a total of about one dozen. This group of three were the most fun.

20180904_122234.jpg

If you ever need a good laugh, just watch a video of Iguanas running; hilarious!

20180904_122211.jpg

Kiko scared the Iguanas by blocking off their escape route... and scared me by getting on the Sea Wall. Kiko, please get down! Lol.

20180904_122323.jpg

The first two jumped in the inter-coastal and swam away. Thankfully I learned earlier in the day that they are excellent swimmers or I would have thought it was a double suicide. Sleeping at night would have been tough.

20180904_122418.jpg

The third and largest Iguana, did one of the funniest things I have ever seen.

20180904_122444.jpg

Just hanging out, Iguana style....

20180904_122936.jpg

Later we found this beautiful Iguana that let me get very close.

20180904_122539.jpg

Flattened out on the edge of the Sea Wall, this one was special.

20180904_123008.jpg

I was able to get some shots that I really enjoy and I am pleased to be able to share with you.

20180904_123120.jpg

A little shy...

20180904_123104.jpg

More comfortable...

20180904_123047.jpg

That's better...

20180904_132810.jpg

All pictures taken by @rawruss with a Nikon D3400 w/ 70-300mm lens in September 2018 in South Florida.

Sort:  

Those are some awesome shots. lol, my oldest daughter would have been on the seawall, probably trying to catch them.... If the youngest would have tried she would have been in the water.
They are beautiful creatures and the one seemed to be somewhat used to humans. The double suicide might have made an awesome video especially when the big one really didn't jump, I could just hear it say, see ya later suckers.... LOL Great post and congrats on that curie vote those are awesome.

Damn what fantastic photo shots from some extraordinary Iguanas.

You took the shots very well with your nikon cam 👍

I am here the only one who things, that these sweet and awesome creatures looks like little dragons?

Greetins from a "Iguana less" counts :-D

Wow, that sharpness, it is incredible the things that the nature gives us, I am sure that you enjoyed very much photographing this being so beautiful.

My respects rawruss.

They are so cute, and you managed some pretty amazing shots. They must have liked you since they cooperated so well. Now I am going to have to go in search of running iguania just out of curiosity.

You were lucky you could take this amazing photos. I guess these are not the posing type of animals. I met a lizard this summer during collecting raspberries and had the opportunity to take some amazing photos but I was also lucky because other times they disappear in a split second.
I love that green by the way!

howdy from Texas rawruss! hey these are some amazing photos and the closeups are definitely worthy of being on the front of a magazine! I didn't know that iguana's could run, I just thought they walked and moved real slow, they can't run fast can they? lol

Seeing a photo of them walk alone looks funny, I can't imagine the fun I am gonna have seeing a video of them. I will be sure to search for a video and join in the "Iguana fun". lol.

Such interesting creatures and you captured them beautifully. I especially love the view of that one that is chilling out with his tail held up, its really funny, chilling up there must be the best feeling in the world (for him). lol

Get down Kiko! Hahaha. Amazing shots, well done. Makes me want a pet iguana now

I just don't see why some people are frightened of creatures like these, i think that they are very beautiful. They must be used to a lot of human presence around as they let you get in close for such detailed photos.

The shape , the colors, especially the eye in the last photo. They are really amazing creatures.

Not only did you took a funny image, you also took cool shots for drawing reference. I enjoy looking at still images of animals and practicing how to render their forms when I have the time. Cools shots by the way, I love the close up shots because they reveal more detail of the subject in color and light.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63588.38
ETH 2595.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81