Postmodern Punk

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Credits: Photography: Dragonslaid photography, NC.  Bodyart: @rampant

This was a HARD shoot. I didn't know the models beforehand, I didn't know much about the idea, I had been called by friend at Dragonslair that they wanted to do a bodyart shoot. So I brought everything. I lugged about 50lbs of bodypaint and bodyart gear out about an hour and a half outside of Raleigh NC. The photographer had gotten the right to use this old abandoned school gym that was filled with old looms and other machinery. I don't know if it was the plan, or inspired by the surroundings, but when I got there it was decided that we wanted do something a little post-apocalyptic, but the girls wanted glamour. So, post-apocalyptic glamour it was. I looked at what I had available and what costuming the girls had brought and decided that paint was probably not the right plan - especially since we had limited time. Instead, I remember seeing stuff done by the Black tape project. I had a bunch of colored duck tape, but none of the electrical so off I went to buy some. Local hardware store to the rescue! This was my first time trying to build clothes out of electrical tape, duct tape, and bondage tape (it's normally used for what it sounds like). Bondage tape is very wide and mostly non-stick. It's great for covering... sensitive areas where normal tape would be a bad plan. We tried some pics with the industrial background but the photographer didn't like them: too much visual noise, not enough glam. So out came the backdrop and lighting. The final outcome is what you see
Sort:  

I love the style you did here, but if you want this to be really successful, you may wish to write a bit about the model or tactics used to capture the picture. There are many photographers here, so really making your blog unique is key.

I understand that this may also be a place to just post pictures like any other social media site, but with the ability to make a few dollars.

Hopefully you wish to put in more effort to make stunning photography like this more valuable to steemit, but regardless of the intention, Great Work!

hi @Bendjmiller222 Thank you for the suggestion! I'll do that.

No problem! As long as people are willing to put forth the effort I'll help, there are a lot that may simply wish to use steemit to post pictures and some that want more than just the few dollars that can be made. :) Hope you continue to grow and put out great photography. Great update. Don't get discouraged if it doesn't make a lot of money. Just keep consistently working hard and someone will find it. Wish I could give more than a penny, but its more than you probably would get elsewhere.

It did. It takes some hard work and trial and error, but I think you have a really unique style.

Maybe even doing an interview with the model or doing a video giving tips on lighting or editing. The more cool info that you can share as a photographer the better.

I'd recommend eapecially paying special interest to how some of the higher dollar photography posts are formatted and put your own twist on it that makes you unique.

Just play to your strengths and have fun. At the very least you can meet some really interesting people and network your style out there with some like-minded photographers and also make some money along the way.

I wouldn't attempt to make money the first priority, but that's my advice personally. If you can just talk about your passion it will feel less like a job and more like a fun conversation with monetary fringe benefits.

The people I see being successful invest time and effort in others, so when you receive some monetary success it will be in everyone's best interest to take some of that money and help out someone new with a cool contest or just tale someone under your wing.

While I'm still a minnow, my mindset has changed a lot since I have started.

I know that's probably a lot to take in, but hopefully you consider my thoughts seriously :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62706.80
ETH 2439.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66