You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Subsidence - a small photography selection

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

There is a true timeless and spiritual quality to this poem brother!

Clutching slabs of memories, eroded by the winds.
One step after the other.
When the salt will seal the wheels of history
and this infinite ribbon will become ocean and tides, walking my soul.

Feels like it is reflecting the sadness of time's passing and history repeating those same well worn echos.

Still, a silent note will challenge the eternal recurrence.

Then... boom you hit us with this line, rightly showing the hope of quieting those eternal recurrences through the dichotomy of the silent note.


I love the echos of the transcendental in your poem @f3nix. Here's some Tao to wrap up my woefully inadequate comment trying to join in describing the immense of it all ;-)

If you can talk about it,
it ain’t Tao.
If it has a name,
it’s just another thing.
Tao doesn’t have a name.
Names are for ordinary things.

Tao Te Ching: Translation Ron Hogan 2004

Sort:  

Well, @raj88, after your comment I have nothing to add :D You stole my favorite line :)

One step after the other.
When the salt will seal the wheels of history
and this infinite ribbon will become ocean and tides, walking my soul.

Jokes aside, I love how arts are such a solitude experience. Each of us seeing, reading, feeling something different.

I read the poem in a single gasp. I guess I was looking for an answer to an existential question that bothers me for some time now. And I saw something completely different in the very same line that @raj88 quoted.

I felt like I wanted to believe so much in "our souls" meeting in the "eternal recurrence". But I am in a certain point in my life in which I feel very angry with death that I cannot think of it in a poetic and spiritual way. I can't help myself but see just a sharp inevitable end of it all. Darkness. Pure nothing.

So, at the end of the poem, I felt angry with life and death all over again. Just because I failed once more to feel the spirituality of "where the time ends".

So, this was me reading this great poem and reflecting within the process :)

Cheers!

I am in a certain point in my life in which I feel very angry with death that I cannot think of it in a poetic and spiritual way.

I'm sorry to hear that, Val.
I understand your feelings, one day eventually a scar will remain and you'll rejoin with yourself at the end of time.
Today I write this, tomorrow I could deny it.. everything changes and flows. Take care and thanks for your deep comment and talking about yourself like a real friend.

Today I write this, tomorrow I could deny it.. everything changes and flows.

The story of my life :)

Thank you, @f3nix!

You're welcome, buddie. Have a good week-end 😉

My dear friend, I don't know any other steemian capable of such depth in a comment. Your words are fuel for my thoughts and thank you for dropping that Tao The Ching gem of knowledge. When we write we constantly face the struggle of language, space, time and also mind itself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42