Traded my Sony A7rii for the Fuji X-Pro 2

in #photography6 years ago

F883AF40-FF88-4D96-A984-BB0685A27E90.jpeg

Full disclaimer: I loved the Sony A7rii. It’s great JB every aspect, just not what I needed as a hobbyist, casual photographer.

The Sony A7rii is one beast of a camera. Full frame. 42MP. Professional grade.
Man was I fortunate to have used this camera in some point in my life. It was such a treat, such an experience to feel that RAW power.
So why did I switch, you ask???

For some reason I never really found myself taking the A7rii with me. Right? The best camera to have is camera you have you. The best camera is the camera that makes you want to take pictures. I found myself grabbing my Minolta x700 with over the A7rii. And I realized why.

I realized the A7rii just wasn’t for me. Initially I bought it because I was into taking portraits. I even bought the 85mm Gmaster. But I found myself too busy unable to continue this hobby.

A few months ago I started a new job in Los Angeles to be more specific Korea Town. I take an hour long commute on a train to get there. The things I see and walk by just to get to my job is culture shocking, intriguing, and in its own way... beautiful. I found myself looking around and taking in the world in a new perspective. I found myself liking Street Photography. I dabbled in it with my A7rii, but found myself why to take candid photos of strangers. I felt noticeable, not stealthy. The Sony just didn’t give me that confidence.
Eventually I kept trying at it. Picked up a one of three of my film cameras. The Minolta x700 was the best I could do. All black, small and sleek, it was just the shutter, the mirror, it was just so loud.

I found myself not using my A7rii as much as convinced my self to keep it and use it later, but I slowly didnt. So I posted it on Letgo, offerup, craigslist. It sat there for months as all I got were low ballers and scammers messaging me.

Just until yesterday morning at 4am. Someone actually seemed legit and asked me if I was interested in a trade.
I entertained the idea as all I wanted was money. So I asked, “Okay, for what?”
He said, “A Camera.”
“What kind?”
“Fuji X-pro 2.”

That really caught my attention. I’ve heard great things about how this camera was a street photographer’s tool. Suddenly, I felt excited, I felt inspired.

Long story short. I met the guy on my break. We traded cameras.

Man did I love how that camera felt in my hand. It felt right. I was excited to take pictures again.

And today I took my first stroll down K-town with my X-pro 2. (Read next post to cont, please)

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-12T23:50:03
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 32.50/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Once you have caught the Fuji bug you are in trouble. you are right the smallness of the X series means you take it with you everywhere, I love my XE3, I see you have the 35mm F2 as well - a mighty lens for street photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52