Holland through my lens : A random abandoned house

in #photography6 years ago

_DSC4386.jpg

This house was intriguing... I passed it earlier when I walked around the dunes of Terschelling. The house was located in one of the best spots. On top of a dune in the middle of nowhere. With the best views!!

The only downside? Being in the middle of the non-stop circling light from the lighthouse.

Sony ⍺6500 + Sigma 16mm f1.4 DC DN Contemporary
f/1.4
1/8 sec
100
Terschelling
Sort:  

Great colors and mood captured

I think I'd happily put up with the light but i have to wonder what the aerials are for and why is it fenced? What was it? What's it housing?

They call it the signal cabin that references back to the war. So it was never really housing ;) I had to look it up. But during the war, there was a German tower on this exact spot with searchlights looking for planes of their enemy. If the light was directed at a specific spot, 315 degrees, it would shine straight into a hen-house with the chickens not liking that much. So they decided not to shine in that direction anymore to remain able to eat their daily eggs. After the war, they destroyed the tower but built this tiny house to keep the foundation. In the basement of this house, you will find a marking of the 315 hen-house angle!
It is fenced because it is almost collapsing and they are trying to decide what to do with it.
They plan on turning it into a very expensive hotel room in the future ;)

Ah okay... I thought there must have been something inside of it. That's cool... yes you have to look after your chickens! That's good that they're planning on saving it!

Sweet shot. Resteemed!

Amazing light.
Well done.
Cheers, Erlend

that's a very nice picture! maybe you could raise the dark a bit to get some structure in it...

Thanks for the suggestion. I experimented a little with all kinds of settings, but it kinda kills the story of this house in the middle of nowhere only lit by the lighthouse beam :)

oh okay! that makes sense! :)

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Colourful and beautiful photo

This is a beautiful shot. Is it being side lit by the lighthouse light?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91