My photography fails - I fucked up my timelapse

in #photography6 years ago (edited)


Pardon my French.... but $#&@^#@!&#(@^$&!@#@!^#&*@! FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK!!

In my quest for becoming a better photographer, I do have my ups and downs. This is just part of the learning process. But sometimes it really hurts. And since I don't expect this particular fuckup to be my last, I decided to share my worst fails with you. Up to you to decide if you embrace it like comedy or want to be empathetic with me... I know that I'll crawl under a blanket for the rest of the day anyway...

On my way to the island of Terschelling, I already came up with a timelapse idea of the whole trip across the water. A 2 hour trip in total, should be awesome! But it was a last minute thing. I had no clue how that would work out. I just gave it a shot. Unfortunately I ran out of battery quickly and had my gear set up at the wrong side of the boat. But there is always the return! Right?

So I changed boats for the return especially for the timelapse. I installed the tripod and camera. Had 3 full batteries! I was going to rock this timelapse! I was confident, what could go wrong! 15 minutes in I realised I was still shooting in RAW which could become an issue. But I did the math: one photo per 5 seconds times 2 hours would fit on my SD card... Barely...but it would!

I sat down and watched the gear like a hawk. The problem with a camera set up on a boat is that all the children of the boat want to check it out. But most were very well behaved. The older men however! :)

Anyway, my fail. Halfway the trip the boat ran into an amazing sailing competition and I was super excited that I was capturing that for my timelapse. Left and right, everywhere small boats trying not to be run over by the huge ferry passing by. I checked the screen and something weird was visible. I didn't get a still anymore, but 1 second live views between the black screens every 5 seconds. "What does that mean?"

And then I realised... I did empty my SD card. But did I actually empty the trash afterwards? And then it hit me. I was pretty sure I forgot to do that. Crap! My SD card was still half full.

So here you have it: A timelapse of half my trip to the mainland. Pretty okay for a first finished attempt, I think... If only I emptied the trash, that clip would have been amazeballs! Now I have to do the trip all over again. Also to take care of another thing I failed at. But that is for a next post!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Agree! For a first attempt. Pretty damn awesome! Bummer of the SD card but trial and error right?

Looking forward to more of these

Will try to do more! A lot of work but I guess it will become easier when I do it more often :)

Don't be so hard with yourself, the timelapse is really cool. The song as well. :)

Haha... I'm pretty happy with the result too :) Just am sooooo annoyed that I don't have the full trip!!

I am learning to make video as well I think is a good attempt it is not easy keep doing it. You had a great choice about the music. You had a great choice about the music

Video is sooooo hard! Music choice is hard too! Thanks :)

I love how you caught the lines of white waves every now and then. Have to say great result for a first attempt!!

There was no way around the white foamy waves :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78