~*~ Steemit Photo Challenge #9: My First Submission for this ACTION packed contest! I present Dragon In Flight~*~

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians!


I really love this community, more so every day! 

I also really like these Steemit Challenges, particularly the PHOTO CHALLENGES! 

I have enjoyed photography for many years and have taken hundreds of thousands of photos. Yet because I have so many responsibilities and important projects going on, I have not done too much with photos lately. Steemit, and particularly these photo challenges, have inspired me to get more involved with it again. For this I am very grateful and want to give a special thanks to @jamtaylor and @berniesanders for making this a reality!


With that being said, I had a REALLY FUN time today on the hunt for an epic action packed fast shutter speed photo!


I got out my most favorite (and sexy) lens as I was hoping to get a good shot of the illusive yellow swallow tail butterfly! I have seen one around here and there lately and hoped I might be able to catch it. 



Now getting a photo of a butterfly on a flower is one thing, but trying to get one IN flight is VERY difficult. So while I was on the prowl for over 2 hours today and though I did see it, not once did it go slow enough or get close enough for me to get a worthy photo.  While I was a bit disappointed by that, I did see a cool blue dragon fly, of which was even HARDER to get a photo, as they move even FASTER. However it hung around for a lot longer in a closer proximity and I was able to catch this shot!


It is one thing to get an in focus shot at high shutter speeds with a tripod and a set, but to go out into nature with all the elements and try to get a dragonfly IN flight IN focus is quite a task. 


So my first submission will be a Dragon In Flight! I still have not really figured out how to get high res full quality photos on Steemit as every time I upload, edit, process etc to get it on Steemit it shows up less clear and nice then on my photo editing program. 


All in all I had fun and I am happy with this photo, here it is! 


I of course am using Steemimg.com to host the photos, so a Special thanks to @blueorgy for all you contribute to this awesome community!


Thanks for this opportunity and I hope to improve my content and also be more regular with posting it here on Steemit!


Steem On!






Sort:  

Good catch! I love that this is not a set-up photo, but nature just presenting itself.

That is so cool! You're a great hunter and marksman with the camera. That's why we call it shooting! Bang on!
Congrats and UPVOTED with great pleasure!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Hahahahaha
Yes I especially felt that way using my big cannon ;-)>
Appreciate the UPvote and kindness!

Dragonflies are magical little creatures.

The other day one flew up in my garden and hovered for about 40 seconds right in front of me, kind of checking me out. I really wished I had a camera but alas we just mind melded for moment before he flittered off.

great action shot!

They really are!
Grateful to share this magical moment with you!

Being a photographer myself, I fully understand how difficult it was to get this photograph. Amazing! Well done.

Thank you!
I am really happy with it, but it is especially nice to have a "professional" who really comprehends what's involved, acknowledge the success!
Gratitude~*~

You're welcome! I wrote for a photography magazine for 10 years and we had the occasional photo contest. This one could have won. Have you considered entering in other competitions also?

No I haven't. I wouldn't even have considered taking it if it were not for the Photo Challenge!
Hahahahaha I LOVE photography but am not part of an forums, groups let alone contests. However since I love photography and Steemit, I am doing this one.
I am inspired though and if you seriously thought this was that good or it should be entered I would do it. Then I could use support from the competition to actually get a real camera!
This photo was difficult but it was especially difficult with a camera that only takes 2 photos a second!

Yes patience pays off in life regularly, not just for great photos!
I deliberately mastered that and am very grateful I did!

But you have something more than just a great photo... patience :) I too have waited day after day following tiny birds or animals to get the picture I'm looking for. I was going to enter, but mine are all on transparency. My scanner broke so I will just have to admire everyone else's photos :)

That's an amazing shot, Quinn!

Thanks!
Glad you like it!
Hope to get even better ones tomorrow!
Appreciate the support~*~

I love the simplicity of this photo. It's relaxing to look at. Good on ya!

Yes~
Nice perspective.
It is simple and relaxing, yet majestic~*~

Very cool, an incredibly difficult shot to get.

Nice Click Dear...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43