Photographic Perspective: A Look at Edible Medicinal Flowers!

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians!


I love photography and I love sustainable holistic health! So I decided to go out and have some fun catching the light and framing the angles for some beautiful shots of what is hopefully real and valuable knowledge to add to your ever growing database!


Lots of plants that we see every day but have never tried or even know the names of are not only beautiful but edible! I do not recommend just eating any flowers that you see, but with that being said there are very few poisonous flowers. Most don't taste that good nor are very digestible, but without recommending doing it I can say it's not very statistically dangerous. All in all, research pays off and its better to be safe than sorry. 

This first beautiful flower is one of our many kinds of basil which we wildcraft and cultivate in beyond organic standards. 


This whole plant is edible including the flowers and has great depth and power as a medicine. @gardenofeden has made a lot of posts about the medicinal/healing properties of herbs in the past and will hopefully do more as they are post of real value!



These cute little flowers are also edible and seem to attract butterflies quite nicely, which is also another reasons why I love them! I got a beautiful photo of the elusive Yellow SwallowTail Butterfly for a photo challenge last week!



Here we have one of our 22 different kinds of mint. I love the long purple tuft flowers. 



Lastly for today I have one more basil flower that looked nice, similar but not the same to the other basil flowers posted. 



I am grateful to be living a healthy, natural and free life. I am grateful to be able to share that with others in this cutting edge community. I hope you enjoy the beauty of these photos and that this post shares valuable knowledge that improves your connection with nature and health.  




Sort:  

Plants are incredible. These are lovely shots! The second and last are my favorites.

Yes nature has provided a medicine for every ailment. All we must do is be aware of it and utilize it properly!
Glad you liked the photos, I hope they inspire people to greater connection and health!

Such beautiful ways to capture nature's gifts.

You captured beautiful moments! It's an honor to see what you see

Thank you for sharing and honoring these moments with me~*~

Quinn, how lucky you are to attract such stunning visitors to your garden - that butterfly is just...wow :o) The photo above it is my favourite (Looks like the Wild Garlic/Ramsons that carpet our Great Shacklow Woods in the spring...)

Yes!
One of the many reasons I love to cultivate a thriving garden eco system and feel it is very important to a happy and healthy life!

Quinn, I can see and feel that in your love of the Garden and its visitors - it is obvious how much you enjoy and benefit from both :D

We run a vegetarian B&B, and we had hoped to grow our own breakfast ingredients. Turns out our eco system here in Derbyshire in the UK is not suited to growing much apart from blackberries in the hedgerows! Sadly, I have given up trying to grow things to eat here, although if I ever find anyone who is genius enough to figure out a way of making it work, I'll be truly delighted... Instead, for now, we have to make do with exchanging the money we earn from hosting our guests for food from local producers and organic box schemes.

We had a huge polytunnel, but as well as being refused planning permission to erect it, we also discovered the hard way that the wind here just shreds any structure that's not incredibly robust! In the end we gifted it to a food growing co-op that feeds poor and homeless people. There was also a commercial sized glasshouse in one of the barns - we gave that to a guy who runs an animal rescue shelter.

I'm happy to say that we have returned the 15 acres we have stewardship of to the arms of Mother Nature, after probably hundreds of years of it being grazed by sheep. The weather is SO wild up here on the hill, but wildflowers (weeds, lol) do very well - it's truly amazing to see the new species of both flora and fauna which have been steadily appearing over the 2 years we've been letting it go wild...

I spend a lot of time outdoors with my feathered friends, fussing after them and keeping them happy, and stopping the wind from blowing them away, lol. And in return, they let me use the eggs they don't want to brood for those breakfasts I mentioned ;O)

Time spent in nature is vital to a happy and healthy life, yes - I feel very fortunate to live where I do, as inhospitable as it can be at times ;o) In its own funny way, it, too is a Garden of Eden... as is all of nature, I do believe ❤

Love to all in the Garden!

Yes!
Thank you for that comment.
I can say that its always possible to grow food anywhere but the dedication of time and resources may not be worth it to most. I am sure I could figure it out but again that would take time and resources!
Chickens are a FANTASTIC way to integrate a little bit of sustainable food production. Can be done anywhere now days and the cost to production value is VERY high!
As for being in nature yes I love it and find it to be very healthy for body mind and soul!
Blessings~*~

You're quite right, Quinn - I am sure that someone like yourself with more knowledge would figure out what to grow here. If you ever find yourself in Derbyshire, you're welcome to stop by for a B&B treat and see what you think would work ;o) I realised after I wrote the last comment that we actually DID manage to grow a couple of edible things this year - one apple tree had a couple of apples on it, and we currently have a tree positively bursting with Medlars. We had a tree full of plums, too, but the wasps beat us to them! And I do manage to grow parsley and a few other herbs on windowsills... I don't think we'd last long on our modest little 'haul', but it's welcome anyway... I'm thinking that the Garden of Eden is rather more suited to endless abundance - I wish you all the best with it always: it looks amazing :o)

Life is truly amazing indeed. Thriving in the Garden of Eden!
I hope to visit your little B&B one day.
Be in touch~
Blessings~*~

Beautiful. The second basil appears to be 'krishna' Tulsi, but what is the first?

Basil! nom nom nom
For some reason we've had a hard time growing it this year. But we did get a few plants going. Great stuff.

Thanks for the comment~
Amazing the contrast of experience. For us we have so much basil that its almost a if its a weed. Thankfully we find great uses for it!

Very cool man, I thought that one of those photos of the mint was a basil flower. We have a basil plant growing in our apartment right now and the flowers look really similar.

Yes~
I have found many herb plants to have similar flowers. Especially when you get into all the hybrids.
There are so many hybrid realities that plants reproduce with different plants and evolve, becoming more similar.

Those long purple tuft flowers are something else! High quality shots, thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51