Magical Micro-Flora of Montana . . . A tiny world that exists among us . . .

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Yet is hardly noticed. Green stars, fairy cups, witch fingers . . . In a microcosm of flora, the world becomes huge.

Among all the large features in a Montana forest, it is the micro creations that have caught my eye.

It is hard not to use the term "magical" when peering at these tiny forest creations. It reminds me of whimsical fairy landscapes, a tiny environment that appears huge when close up.

I have become pretty much OBSESSED with finding these molecular gems when I tramp around in the woods. I do have to keep my head up for bears and moose, but the rest of the time I am looking on the forest floor for another discovery of the tiniest kind.

These little green shoots look like twisted, gnarled old witch fingers. About a dozen would fit on my thumbnail.

I love this little flora microcosm. There is even a tiny mushroom among the green stars and fairy cups.

These are not too micro, but I <3 mushrooms!

This is about 3 inches under a rotting log. A whole primordial world abounds under our feet.

Sort:  

Fungus are among us! When I was getting ready for college, my dad gave me some tips. He said if I want to be an expert at something, I should study water bears (tardigrada) because nobody knew much about them. And if I wanted to be a millionaire, I should study how to grow morel mushrooms commercially. I think that last challenge is still out there for any future mycologist!

And he advised me not to buy bananas if they cost more than 20 cents a pound. I followed that advise, for a long time, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97