Flora of Montana

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

One of my biggest hobbies and passions in life is to find and document various species of wildflowers, shrubs, trees, and plants in general. I love studying about the edible, medicinal, and poisonous properties of flora. I also really love mushrooms too, but it’s not quite mushroom season yet!


One of my favorite wildflowers: the Mountain Monkey Flower. It is probably my favorite because of the name, but it is also beautiful as well and grows in big bright bushels.


A young, unopened Cow Parsnip I believe, Could be Desert Parsley but hard to tell until the flower opens.


Pink Fireweed, a gorgeous shot.


Maple Leafed Currant bush. Currants are bitter and sour until cooked or heated and made into pie or jelly.


Green Leaf Bluebells


Arnicas, poisonous!


Self Heal


Bloomed Cow Parsnip, look at all the pollinators on this flower! It looks like a space station with little ships landing all over it!


Leafybract Aster, these flowers are just so tiny and cute!


Wild Raspberry! I LOVE wild raspberries as they are so juicy and tart and sweet, although they are much smaller than the grocery store variety.


I could not identify this flower which means it is probably one of the rare blooms. In Montana, there are flowers that will not bloom for several years until the time is right. For my seven years of hiking and exploring Montana and it’s wildflowers, I have yet to have come across this one, until now. A very exciting find!


This little starry flower is another unknown, however, being that there are so many yellow flowers and variations of yellow flowers, I would not consider it rare, but wouldn’t rule it out either.

Check out my other posts: click here for my personal page. Don’t forget to hit the followbutton in the top right corner! Thank you for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35