Fall Mushrooms are Afoot! A plethora of Fungi abounds in the Forest

in #photography8 years ago

Ever since I was little, I have been OBSESSED with mushrooms! I love to identify, research, collect, and cook up the edible delights. These mystical spore releasing creations have always captured my heart and now I present to you our findings from last week's mushroom hunt.

This mushroom growing off a dead log is most likely edible, but I would consider to only be a survival food as it was densely moist.

Many mushrooms are used for dyes; this one has inky black gills that stain when touched.

A pink gilled Bolete.

Sort:  

Awesome Pictures!

It Seems We
Have Cool
Stuff In Common
@queenmountain
So Glad Steemit Makes It Happen!
:))

Fungi are fun! That's a nice selection of mushrooms. That 4th photo looks like an Agaricus, with those pink gills. I made a YouTube video about ID'ing an Agaricus meadow mushroom that you might enjoy: Here it is

I'm looking forward to finding some boletes, with their pores instead of gills, now that our fall rains started last week here in Oregon's Willamette Valley. Happy mushroom hunting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49