Why dark images? | Dark Nature Photography

in #photography7 years ago

Hello Steemit,

since a lot of people like my pictures, I decided to blog about why I do my images the way I do them.

IMG_4954.jpg

As you might have noticed my images are rather dark. It is something different from the rest of the images on the internet. When you scroll through your Instagram feed, for instance, you just scroll and look at the images along the way. But there are certain pictures, on which you stop and look at them, analyze them. Mainly images that have a meaning or story to them, the type of images that you can relate to. Creating a photo like that is hard.

IMG_3265.jpg

I mainly shoot nature, not a lot of people and I have mainly only one subject in my photos. The rest of image is just empty, filled with nature with no human-built structures. I want to create a sense of isolation when you look at it, which works really well with dark images. They pull you back to the real world, to where you are at, the present, not the future, I find. This is what I like about them.

IMG_5322.jpg

Remember always try to incorporate some story or meaning into your pictures. An image is much more than a bunch of colour pixels, an image can convey emotions and feelings.

Thank you for reading this blog article.

I hope you liked it!

Check out my Instagram: My Instagram

See you in my next post,
ProRed

Sort:  

I love it .. darkness

Do you ever print your photographs?
I wonder what these would look like printed on a paper stock like Fuji Velvet.

I don't own a photo printer currently, I might pick one up soon though. I'm excited to give it a try.

I didn't mean printed like that. I don't print my own photos, I meant from a lab. they do it better.
There's so many cool paper stocks available now. Lots of creative options to play with.

Oh, I have been thinking about that too. Sounds like a better idea for a beginner.

Learning how to print your own work is propbably always a good idea.
Using labs gets you access to using Fujiflex or Kodak Endura metallic papers.
which are both stunning.
There's a lot of other cool stuff around too. I should probably write blog posts about these. Shouldn't I?

Go for it! I'll read it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36