Photography Blog #1 - A whole ton of snow - 01/20/2018

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

This should be the first of many. I want to blog about my experiences going out taking photos. As I mainly do nature and landscape photography I usually go into forests close to where I live.

Since cycling is also a big hobby of mine I normally bike to where I want to go, but today it snowed quite a lot and I was unable to take my bike. I chose to go into a forest that I went into quite a lot (mainly in Summer & Fall). Seasons can change an area to look completely different, so I wanted to know how it looked in winter.

Well, I don't have good footwear for snow and walking through 15cm (about 5 inches, I think) and snow falling into your shoes isn't very fun. But aside that I really liked the trip, I couldn't find nearly enough compositions as I wanted, but that's a problem every nature photographer has, I think.

Let us go through all the pictures, which I actually liked and kept.

Picture #1:
IMG_5438.jpg

I nearly walked past this composition, as it was so small. But I was happy that I walked back and found it. There is something I really like about this picture. I love the reflection of the forest in the water, it gives the image more depth. Normally would have used a polarizer for this picture, but in this case, it was not really necessary and I was a bit lazy because it was so cold. I'm glad I didn't.

Picture #2:
IMG_5441.jpg

I'm not a very big tree photographer since I don't like the way they look normally. But in winter I love the snow that is on the branches. It was kind of hard to not underexpose the tree since the sky and snow were so bright, but the exposure is fine in my opinion.

This place reminds me very much of an event that occurred here. Basically, I was taking photos in this opening of the forest and a deer walked out of the woods behind me. Eventually, it started a kind of warning call for all the other deer to hear. It scared the life outta me. Kind of funny looking back.

Picture #3:
IMG_5445.jpg

And here is the last picture of today. Another tree picture, just a different composition. I don't know which I like better. (Comment down below with your choice)

As it was getting dark early, another thing that I hate about the winter time, I decided to go home.

Follow me on Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/proredgraphy/

See you in my next post!
-ProRed

Sort:  

nothing makes me more happy than snow... nice post... 👌👌👌

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48