How I started off in nature photography

in #photography6 years ago

Hello Steemit!

Today I want to write about how to start off in photography and about how I got to call myself a nature photographer now.

bild-5.jpg

My story all started off at the beginning of 2016. I watched a lot of travel vlogs and films in that time. I wanted to create pictures and videos too! So I grabbed my mobile phone and got out taking photos.

I live in a very rural area so being a nature photographer was pretty easy as it gave me a lot of awesome compositions to work with.

Fast forward to Christmas that year I got a DSLR. A canon t5i (700D) to be exact. I still use this camera now and bought another lens for it, the 50mm f1.8 as I wrote in another blog.

The main reason I wanted a DSLR is that I really wanted to
control the aperture of the lens, which I couldn't with my phone (a Lumia 950 at that time, which has an AMAZING camera).

Pretty much every day I was home I went out shooting. I watched a lot of tutorials online which taught me a lot about photography like the rule of thirds, lighting (Peter McKinnon and TravelFeels are some very good ones nowadays).

After getting a DSLR I almost immediately switched over to shoot in manual. It so much better because you have so much more control over what your photo is going to look like.

Later on, I also switched to shooting in raw and editing my pictures. I was and still am a quality hungry monster when it comes to image quality. I also bought an image editing software (Cyberlink Photodirector 8), which I still use because I don't want to pay for Lightroom. I gotta say that I'm very happy with this software despite it crashing now and then.

A379AE61-06B4-4E8B-BA91-27CDF158A7D0.jpg

I don't travel much unfortunately so I usually go to places I have been to before. I got a bike in summer 2017 which extended my reach by quite a lot and I got to see places that I have never been to before.

But now in winter, I'm struggling to get photos for my Instagram because I can only get so far. Recently I have been trying to get deeper in the woods and exploring all the roads that lead into them.

That it for this post!
I hope you liked it!

See you in my next post,
ProRed

Sort:  

If you could travel somewhere to take more pictures, where would you go?

Iceland and Japan are very high up on my travel list.

I would love to go to Japan some day. My roommate is actually visiting there this summer and I'm super jealous!!! Anyway, what interests you about Japan?

excellent photography. still capturing magical moments

Great pictures !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50