Friday the 13th Howling at the Full Moon...

in #photography5 years ago

I had been waiting for the full moon to try capturing it with my new camera.

As it happened the full moon fell on Friday the 13th! Some people feel Friday the 13th will bring bad luck while others feel it brings good luck.

Well I didn't have any luck on Friday the13th capturing photos of the full moon for when I first went out at dusk the moon hadn't risen. When I checked it later before I went to bed the clouds had moved in so I figured I might not be able to get my photos right the exact day of the full moon but it is still full the day after so I decided I'd try again then.

During the night, after midnight, I awoke to see a bright light shining through my bedroom window - the clouds had lifted!

I put on some pants and sweater and grabbed my camera to see what shots I could catch.

It was wonderful being out in the pines under the full moon and I caught a delightful bunch of photos plus the evening was also full of many sounds, one that was totally something you would expect to hear in a Halloween movie!

Full Moon Silhouetting the Pine Tree

silloquette of pine tree backround colored with full moon.JPG

Full Moon Making a Lovely Background to the Pine Branches

full moon background to silloquette of 2 pine branches.JPG

Bright Full Moon Throws Off a Pinkish Coloring

pink tinge around full moon behind pine branches.JPG

Time to try out my zoom lens to get a close up of the full moon!

At first there was a bit of cloud -

Closeup of the Full Moon with Light clouds

Full Moon with light cloud.JPG

The clouds cleared and I got a beautiful picture showing the craters and lines on the Moon - I was so pleased!

Closeup of the Full Moon Showing the Details

closeup of full moon Sept 13 2019.JPG

While I was taking photos the coyotes starting to yap in the distance then an eerie howl of the neighbors dog began, joined by his partner making for a rather spine chilling sound that would fit in well in a horror movie!

I heard the bugling of an elk but couldn't capture it and also the sound of some geese flying by the light of the moon!

I was starting to get chilly and the moon was going more behind the pine trees so I decided to call it a night and headed back to bed - chilled but happy from my photographing adventure!

All photos and video were taken with my Cannon PowerShot SX 60 HS

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe, @earthtribe & @steemitbloggers



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain


MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Visit my store - Porters Place at https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/porters-place/

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

Sort:  

Awesome photos! Every single one you shared is fabulous! I heard it was also a harvest moon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow that full moon picture zoomed in is so cool! Glad you took the time to head out in the night and take these shots! Did you join in the howling as well? 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank-you!
No I didn't join in the howling but I was all wide-eyed taking in all the wonderment of the evening!

I've seen and heard an awful lot about this particular full moon. Just been wondering what combination of events has touched people so....

Some wonderful shots, it seemed to be a really powerful one for me 💯🐒

Wow, such great shots! Glad you were able to get out and capture these. I get that eerie feeling just looking at them even without the sounds, but I can imagine the atmosphere all together was quite the moment! I know @foxyspirit was doing some Halloween crafts yesterday evening, so perhaps the full moon and significant date got many people in the spirit. :)

Amazing shots - we couldn't even see something like this over here thanks to the heavy haze! I think it's totally worth staying up for photos like these, I really like them :>

Nice captured. I always love to stare into the surface of the moon.

Some awesome shots of the moon particularly those with the pine tree @porters

Stunning pics @porters!! That new camera was a GREAT investment!! I'm chuckling as I sit here several days after, and had not even NOTICED it had been Friday, let alone 13th. LOL. #unplugged


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

I am not going to say that I told you so my friend.
I think even your own keen eye will be pleased with these photos.
Just a tip when you video.
There is a little red dotted knob at the right top corner of the camera, just below the settings wheel. When you press this little red spotted knob, the camera switches itself into an instant video mode. Press again and the video action stops.
Maybe you have already used this system?
Blessings!

Thanks to you @papillioncharity I was inspired to invest in a new camera and get out there taking more nature shots and in particular moon shots!
I'm really happy with my Canon Powershot SX 60 HS That you recommended! I'm having lots of fun with it and lots more to learn about what it is capable of!
Thanks again for taking the time to give me tips and recommendations!
Now we just have to get your book together with your awesome photography!
I'm going to put together a book too of my nature photography.
And I did use that system for the videos.

A bit troublesome that you had no sound as the camera is very capable of picking up sound in the videos my friend.
Maybe you should have a gander at the video sound section in the operators manual?
But then again if the sound was far away the camera wouldn't get it!
Blessings!

I did have sound. It plays fine for me. It is a Youtube video perhaps you have the sound turned down or muted!

Oy Vay, you are right, my sound was down.
Next time please remind me to turn my sound up hahaha
It works fine now.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00