Alaska diary

in #photography7 years ago

Tracy Arm Fjord in Juneau210DB6DE-F75F-40F8-96CA-5C90B31262AB.jpeg

I wonder why they spell it that way. The fjord!

Anyways, the spellings were not the only thing we were wondering about. Apparently this glacier used to be much bigger and longer, but with global warming taking a toll, has reduced in size substantially. Wonder how long till all of it recedes completely.
Got to see a calving too, where a part of the ice broke off and fell making a roaring noise. Quite an experience that.

734ED9CF-6706-4FE5-949C-564D9AE0CCA0.jpeg

Check out the baby seal chilling (literally) on the ice. That's his version of a sun bath, I guess.

Sort:  

Incredible images my friend!

Thanks javy. Alaska certainly is incredible.

This is once again incredible!

It's so sad that glaciers might not exist in another few years... assuming a continuation of the exponential climate change.

I've heard the breaking of a glacier is like nothing else.
I feel like I've missed my chance to visit Antarctica.. the environmental impact of that tourism is too great, but Alaska is just down the road... so keen to visit.

Alaska has so many places to take your breath away. You are so lucky to be living so close to that place.
Hope you are able to find time off for it..

We'll just have to make time!
And with photos like this to inspire us, that'll be a whole lot easier to organize!

Thanks!

Awesome shots. I'm planning a trip to Alaska in 2019. I'm really looking forward to it.

Thanks dkid..
Am sure you are going to love that trip thoroughly. If you are the adventurous sort , do try the kayaking at Ketchikan , with Orca's all around. I missed it though.

Nice post, Alaska looks beautiful.. have always wanted to explore here ... Global warming has really been reaping havoc in recent years and I don't see it subsiding in the coming years, which is quite unfortunate for us and the rest of mother's nature (including this seal chillin like a villain).

Thanks Conrad... hope you are able to make a trip to Alaska soon enough. Before the warming takes away some more of the glaciers..

Yes, GW has terrible prolonged and everlasting ecological effects and I hope that our poor earth can withstand this brutal force against nature... All of the best from @conradsuperb

Just yesterday I talked about Climate change. It's real and it's terrible. :-(

Thank you for sharing. Beautiful shots!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67475.08
ETH 3475.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65