Photography - Places I used to live, part 1

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

In this series, I would like to show you the towns and cities that I have lived in. As I take you on this journey, I will be sharing my older pictures first, so it is also a journey through my photography. You'll see my skills progress throughout the series (I hope!).

I've lived in four different places, in five different homes. Due to privacy, I won't be sharing many names.

Forest house

It all started in the town that I grew up in (no, not in that shed). It's a small town, surrounded by beautiful nature. Growing up in a small town, I guess, is different than growing up in a city. We did not have many places to go to, besides nature. I guess for a kid, that is the best way to grow up; playing outside or in the forest, building huts and playing games.

Houses

It's a quiet town and perfect for relaxing walks. There are many forests for short and longer walks and it's all very spacious. Even a small stroll through town is very relaxing and you won't see many people or vehicles around.

Cemetery

One of my favourite walks was near the cemetery. The cemetery itself is also a beautiful place to visit. I often started my walk there and then continued in the adjacent forest.

Forest

Going a bit further from home, I'd often take my bike. Once I got my first digital camera, I made sure to always take it with me on these trips.

Field

Besides the beautiful nature all around the town, my mum also had a nice garden with many flowers. These flowers attracted many insects, which ofcourse were a great practice for my close-up photo's.

Bee

I think I've had a very good childhood. Sure, once we had to go to high school, we had to cycle an hour a day to get there, but that's a small price to pay (It's also quite healthy, though that's not what was on my mind during heavy rains...). Living in a city now, I really miss the peace and quiet of a small town, as well as the beautiful nature all around. It's why my ultimate goal is to move back to a small town.

For now, I'm stuck in the city. But this isn't the first city I've lived in.

More to come in part 2!


All images are taken from my Deviantart account 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.

Sort:  

Beautiful photos :) That little house first looks cute and cozy!

I think so too! I've never seen the inside of it, sadly. When I went back there a couple of years ago, it wasn't there anymore. Someone tore it down :-(

it wasn't safe anymore probably :)
One day, city living will be full of greens where no one will leave it to go to the mountains.

Good point, that was probably it.
It would be great if cities incorporated more green everywhere. I really think it's possible and it would have such a good effect on environment and health. Not only physical, but also mental health :-)

Mostly mental health seriously,but for now will settle for parks and rivers. City gardens in small spaces are coming out too.

Oh yes, city gardens are great. We have a few places here like that and also some small places you can kind of call forests (very small though). It's great for people with dogs, but also to just see some nature when you're going for a little walk.

I'm lucky enough that my cycle route to work is down the edge of the city, mostly right next to a river :-)

Good for u..u can breathe.

I agree , most are focusing on building and working and green spaces are getting left out and underdeveloped , people just pass them by and go on with their grey days :| , not much community , not much free people sitting on benches and laughing.

Looks like a fantastic place to grow up, and then to retire to later in life.

Definitely, or another small town like it :-)

Nice place with beautiful nature!

It really is! I'm so lucky to have grown up there :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57286.76
ETH 2998.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26