Story behind the photo #5 - Night illumination

in #photography6 years ago


Night Illumination


IMG_0243nolog.jpg

Left click on the image to full screen mode!


CategoryNight photography
Settings16mm ISO1000 f4.0 Exposure time 25sec
CameraCanon 6d
LensCanon 16-35mm f4.0
LocationJonsvatnet lake, Norway

Last week I found something amazing by the shores of well known for me Jonsvatnet lake, which is situated few km from my home. The thing I saw first time there was crazy ice formations created by crushed ice cover of the lake. How and why it happend? The creator of this beauty was very strong wind. Few days before that, all lake surface was already frozen, but the ice covarage wasn't strong enough to hold the force of blowing wind and big waves coming from the south. All the ice from the lake gathered crushed in the northern shores of lake, then, when the low temperature came again, it has frozen creating incredible ice surfaces, patterns, motives and shapes.
I spent there 2 days walking on the ice, taking photos of different structures, hunting for some nice sunset and playing with macro photography. That day I captured great sunset, hundreds of macro motives for my collection and finally came back by the lake during night time hoping for some Aurora show. Unfortunatelly without success with Aurora... Beautiful starry sky with visible Orion constelation above the lake. To lighten up the ice, which by the way look amazing when got some more light, I used a flashlight option in my cellphone. The light was cold so it matches almost natural light from the full moon. This shot was one of my favourite so I decided to share it with You.

All the sessions that days had also one more thing I love - sounds of freezing, cracking ice in the distance - incredible sounds, during the night even more scary and mysterious, like from another planet. Magic, simply magic...

If You like it, have any questions or opinions - write! Thanks a lot for all!

If You are interested in my works - visit my portfolio page: asphotovisions

Check out my other posts from this week and support if You like it. Cheers!

Sort:  

Beautiful shot! Love the lit ice.

Way to make the ice glow! Love this! Caught my eye.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64886.88
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37