Their LAST Breath of hope! Do YOU give a damn?

in #photography7 years ago

While contemplating what I should post as my 2nd blog on Steemit, I went searching through my images for inspiration.
I stopped in my file labeled Memorial Day 2017. I have been going to this ceremony for years. My little Italian Pappa, who made it to 98 years, is a big part of the reason I still attend. Some of his best friends are still involved in this small town ceremony. Old timers like ART!

IMG_3511.JPG

So many of these WWII vets hope the younger generations will show up. Maybe even ask questions about their experiences on the battle fields. What they acrificed for the love of country. But looking at the crowd, it's clear the generational void is real. Oh, don't get me wrong lots of people attended. Diehards like Eunice.

IMG_3530.JPG

The patriotism can be seen in song and salute...
IMG_3523 copy.jpg

...in solemn moments of reflection.
IMG_3503.JPG

...and loneliness for a spouse use to come too.

![IMG_3516.JPG](

But the younger vets have to ask themselves,

IMG_3534.JPG
" who will be here when I'm the oldest veteran in the formation?"

IMG_3501.JPG

Do you care to acknowledge history? Honoring those who gave up so much. Or is the act of commemorating veterans, a sign of support for war in your eyes? Is it easier to ignore the past that you didn't live through? Do you give a Damn? Just curious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54