Original Photography: The Runner

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Princippally, I am a professional natural light documentarist photographer. But I do the occasional portrait as well. Most of these are informal in atmosphere and I use my skills as a moment-catcher to get good portraits. But in some instances, it does take some more planning. E.g. If you're shooting band photos or a formal wedding portrait.

In this case, my friend Ben, who is an extreme runner and fitness freak (think 2x marathon atop some of the highest mountains on earth), wanted a portrait of himself. We sat down one afternoon and had a chat about his expectations. He wanted a photo of him running on the beach, with the water in the background and the sand beneath him.

I knew that the beach where he usually trains has a sunset opposite the waterline. This, I thought, would be great for illuminating his muscular body. I also thought I wanted to make it look like he was flying through the air. So on the day, I brought my longest lens, a Canon EF 100-400mm L lens, and a tripod in order to shoot him at a really long focal length at relatively slow shutter speeds, panning the camera so I could motion blur the background.

I instructed him to jump at a certain point through the air, keeping his body position still, so his legs and hands wouldn't blur on the long exposure.

After just a few jumps, I knew we had nailed it. It came out exactly as planned, which surprised even myself. The feedback from this one image has spurred me on to try more sport portraits.

We did some more shots that day, but this one is the winner, just because it came out as planned.

Follow me @photomathias for more like this.

The runner
(Click photo for better quality on Flickr)

Photo by: http://www.mathiasvejerslev.dk
Follow me @photomathias
My Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/mvejerslev/

Sort:  

Incredible photograph, and really great explanation. Awesome.

Great read! I just upvoted you thanks for sharing

Thanks for the upvote :-)

wow bro all that consideration is what makes it come out that sweet huh, seriously awesome photo man, It looked a little off i couldnt quite tell what it is, its the hold of the pose, it makes the guy look like hes superpower running 6 metres a step, which is probably not far off what he was doing xD

Nice photo. Looking for a great photographer. Keep you in mind

Hej photomathias!

Jeg er blevet gjort opmærksom på din færden her på Steemit gennem katharsisdrill som også er dansk og ville blot lige sige hej.

Det er jo altid skønt at se andre danske Steemit entusiaster her på sitet! Vi er også ved at være nogle stykker, så måske man en dag skulle arrangere et lille meetup.

Jeg håber på at høre fra dig. Du har hermed en ny følger :)

ronni

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48